Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Home » Adamant Entertainment » Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds) » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Ultimate Game Mechanics Guide: Ground Warfare (Savage Worlds)
Publisher: Mystical Throne Entertainment
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:21:36

Unlike the Ultimate Characters Guide, the Ultimate Mass Battle Guide is pretty well balanced for the most part, with the systems it adds being nice and generally not overly favoring one side or the other without very good reasons. It IS very overcomplicated for Savage Worlds (I actually have played and run GURPS with little issue;And even enjoy occasionally creating GURPS characters in my spare time; and yet I had a lot of trouble understanding how the additions to mass battles in this book are used), which means that it may defeat the purpose of Mass Battles as a way to speed up play, and will be very difficult to explain to others or even understand how to use it.

Unfortunately, this and the Ultimate Characters Guide do not give me much confidence in how this publisher handles Savage Worlds, so I will be avoiding purchasing books by them in the future.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Game Mechanics Guide: Ground Warfare (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
Publisher: Mystical Throne Entertainment
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:16:09

I feel like while this book has a lot of really great ideas, the execution of those ideas is either sub-par or terrible. most of the edges are either very underpowered or very overpowered, often outperforming other edges with higher rank requirements or much more intensive prerequisites. The Complimentary Skills rule allows Self-Assists, which makes little sense in most cases (even those it's quoted as being used for), the way Knowledge Skills give a flat bonus to things is not only unbalanced, but guarenteed to remove any need to roll save to figure out if the player rolled snake eyes.

So why isn't this review for one star? Because the parts that refer to rules, edges, hindrances, racial abilities etcetera from the core book are by and large very well done, so long as they aren't used with the rules, edges, hindrances, or racial abilities from this book.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Characters Guide (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:11:30

Everything in this book is absolutely perfect for portraying the pulps as most people know them, though there is ONE small problem.

The prices for items are absurdly low. I like to think that Savage Worlds (like most other generic systems with gear listed by dollar value) abstracts what the value of $1 is... and this is very true of all the "X Companion" books that Pinnacle itself has come out with. Thrilling tales however has the option of a .38 detective special for a mere $25, which is WAY too cheap given the default $500 starting cash, and the usual value of a nearly equivelent pistol bottoming out at between $100 and $200 in the core book.

To clarify, this makes two MREs or K-Rations, plus one canteen equal in cost to a .38 detective special. That's not exactly realistic in any setting, and it makes food utterly not worth purchasing if you have anything above a D4 in Survival. I generally just change the prices to fit the ones in core books, but the fact this makes it necessary to do so means one less star.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Creator Reply:
To be absolutely clear, the prices presented in Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds) are historically accurate, not abstracted. The prices were taken from various period sources of the 1930s. Whereas this does mean that the prices do not compare easily with those in the Pinnacle core releases, they are true to the period of the game. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Apocalypse Unleashed
Publisher: Daring Entertainment
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:03:52

This book, first of all, does not cover mechanics and core post apocolyptic setting creation guidelines. That's 100% Apocolypse Campaign Guide stuff.

Instead, this covers simple, basic outlines of settings that are made with the stuff in the Apocolypse Campaign Guide. It does this job just fine, but it still feels like it's missing something for all that.

As a hillarious sidenote, my softcover copy seems to have had an entire second book put in there for some reason, not even slightly related to gaming (In fact, it's a workbook for some christian church. I'm not joking, that actually happened). This is probably a bug in the printer/distributor's presses, but thankfully none of the actual book I purchased was cut out. All that's changed is that I have to skip past an entire second book to get to the first page of the one I'm reviewing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Unleashed
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Creator Reply:
Wow. Yeah, the "second book" is definitely an odd bug from the printer. I can't even fathom how that happened (I ordered three proofs for each of the two Apocalypse books, so it definitely isn't a regular thing). Well, I hope the workbook was entertaining. :) Now I actually wish I had a copy of that mess-up, just to see it. Best Regards, Lee F. Szczepanik, Jr.
Apocalypse Campaign Guide
Publisher: Daring Entertainment
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:00:12

This book is, simply put, extremely useful. A lot of attention to detail for each type of apocolypse listed (and there are a LOT of those in the book) is present. A crafting system that seems like it should have been included with the core Savage Worlds book is present within this book, and zombie and vampire race creation rules complete with point values for making PC Races (Which means that you can finally make PC Vampire Races that match the ones in the horror companion for versitility). Settlement Management rules are also present, which are extremely versitile and useful for way more than just post apocolyptic games.

This book is my vote for Unofficial Post Apocolyptic Companion, 100%.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Campaign Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Savage Thunderscape: the World of Aden
Publisher: Kyoudai Games
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2017 20:54:16

I have to say that this is probably one of the most in-depth, detailed, and unique fantasy settings out there. The level of depth is extremely detailed, putting most first party D&D settings to shame (I haven't purchased many setting books for Savage Worlds, so I can't judge it by that standard yet) Mechanically speaking, the book is sound, and not too complex to run either (Only a very slight amount of complexity increase compared to my simpler Savage Worlds games, which tend to use a single companion book and the core rules at most).

Having purchased the hardcover, I can definitely say it's worth the extra money over the softcover or PDF. It's virtually indistinguishable in print quality from the 3E era D&D books, save that the pages aren't glossy. This is more the distributor's doing, but it certainly makes it worth the extra cash.

Finally, if you're buying this, try to get ahold of a copy of the Fantasy Companion for Savage Worlds if you haven't already got it. Savage Thunderscape includes data on things that work from the basis of that (Though they are easy enough to not use), making it optional but highly recommended to have it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Thunderscape: the World of Aden
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Mage: The Ascension (Revised)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2011 22:09:58

I bought this hoping for a functional product. I got (first three downloads) a product that didn't work at all in adobe reader. Then I downloaded it a fourth time and it worked, but the first seven pages were missing. There's some serious server-end problems here, a disturbing trend since I started buying the old world documents.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Vampire: The Masquerade - Revised Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2011 22:08:09

I tried downloading this and 1/2 the pages were missing from the download. Probably some form of corruption on the way to here. I really want this product, I just can't see why it doesn't work when I get it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade - Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Mage: The Ascension (Second Edition)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2011 22:06:21

Six downloads later, I don't even have a functioning book. There's some serious problems with the servers here.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG