Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Home » Adamant Entertainment » MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version) » Reviews
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Blue Sea Deck
Publisher: P.D. Magnus
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2014 22:28:54
I really like this. I highly recommend the Blue Sea Deck.
It's neat to have the two blue suits added to a standard french deck.

The art is good, I especially like the King with the sunglasses.
all the normal aspects are represented: one eyed jacks, suicide kings, the queen with the scepter and the one with the flower... (if you don't know what I'm talking about don't worry about it). The back of the cards is wonderful!

This is more a comment on the printing, than the cards or their art: the black pigment doesn't seem dark enough IMO, or perhaps it's dark grey intentionally. Up close, the art looks a tiny bit pixelated, but it really isn't bad, and doesn't detract from the overall effect.

I especially love the three jokers and their art.

Spring for the large deck box too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Sea Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Serene Fist Set Two: Ninja vs Samurai
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2014 21:57:35
I love Okum arts cardstock minis.

Samurai.
Ninjas.

What more need I say?
:-)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Serene Fist Set Two: Ninja vs Samurai
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Four: Ogres
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2014 21:56:43
I can't say enough good things about Okum Arts cardstock minis. I love the art, the prices are reasonable, and the layers really add value since it's like multiplying the number of figures you get. many sets have bonus figures hidden the layers too, which is really. cool.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Four: Ogres
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

100 numbers between 1 and 100, Inclusive
Publisher: Troll in the Corner
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2014 22:41:22
This is the BEST thing since... ever!
Just L00k at that fine illustration of BREAD!
Sliced Bread!

Ganbatte!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 numbers between 1 and 100, Inclusive
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Ninja - Silent but Deadly
Publisher: Troll in the Corner
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2014 17:50:24
This.
is.
FANTASTIC!

I'm so glad I took a chance on Ninja- SBD. I'll definitely by upgrading to the real print cards.
This game is FUN. and fun in a fun way to be fun. Unless you're boring.

One variation I like is to slip a card to someone who doesn't yet realize they're playing. So when they get the news that they've lost, it's like, "Damn. That was Ninja!" (ninja the adjective, I mean.) The only way to improve that would be for the backs of the cards (which have great art!) to have a QR that links to the rules so your victim can see how and why they lost. and thus, the game expands exponentially, like a anti-disease of ninja fun.

or something.

But my point is, Get this! Love it! Share it! Love it some more. With every part of your body.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja - Silent but Deadly
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

R.I.S.K. Roleplaying is Simple Kids
Publisher: Art of War Games
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2014 04:17:08
This is really very slick! This would be a great introductory game for kids or fine to use as a rules light pick up game for anyone. The game mechanic is simple enough to use for a board game but doesn't feel overly simple. It's elegant. I think it has enough crunch to make the different characters distinct, and the skilled characters clearly have an edge over the untrained. It succeeds in its stated purpose of being accessible without being overly simple.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
R.I.S.K. Roleplaying is Simple Kids
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

A5 Maps
Publisher: Gold Piece Publications
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2014 00:13:09
This is really good. This will be handy for a pick up game or random side mission, or even for a Teleport spell that misfires and plops the party in some random place. Poof! you have maps!

and the maps are good too! I love the blank and DM versions.

Very useful.

Worth a few bucks, IMO.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A5 Maps
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Super Heroes Unite!
Publisher: DD Art Studio
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2014 01:57:32
I like this. It does what it sets out to do and is a value for the price.

The art is what it is, though I didn't realize it's in color: I thought it was line art that one could color oneself. This isn't a flaw, per se, it just wasn't clear to me because the cover art looks like the figures were hand colored.

Mechanics wise, it works and is a fun little system for kids or for killing time before everyone arrives.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Super Heroes Unite!
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Bad Myrmidon
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2013 08:44:16
I really dig this adventure!
It's well done, and the 'book' would be worth paying for just for the art!

It's a good sandbox, with well written challenges and the whole thing is fun to explore and play.

Fight on, Mandy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bad Myrmidon
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

C&C Fantasy Races Unlocked! Kobolds
Publisher: Christina Stiles Presents
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2013 19:14:20
This is totally a great expansion.
Usable with a tiny tweak or two with d20 type games too!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
C&C Fantasy Races Unlocked! Kobolds
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

S&S: Spirits & Spurs
Publisher: Dave Bezio's Grey Area Games
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2013 19:58:19
This is SO COOL!

A great way to introduce a little Weird West to SnS (or other western games, if you work it a bit). This supplement allows you to play a small posse who are akin to the Men in Black, fighting demons and such that the common folk refuse to believe are real. It's a great way to add just a touch of weird west without it becoming overwhelming. (or it could, if you want).

Again, Dave's deft touch of using familiar tropes well but innovately so it doesn't feel cliche.

in 5 words or less: GET THIS

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
S&S:  Spirits & Spurs
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Shotguns & Saddles Old School, Old West RPG
Publisher: Dave Bezio's Grey Area Games
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2013 19:54:33
Another winner from Dave Bezio!

Clever character design that is class-less yet archetypical. Innovative yet familiar alignment and other d20-esque elements make the game a breeze to learn.

The setting (as such) characters and things make great use of the Wild West tropes without being cliched. The game is more crunchy than X-plorers, but still rules light IMO, allowing story and player to player tabletop fun to take precedence over rules lawyering.

A great read, and a great game!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shotguns & Saddles Old School, Old West RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Alien & Robot Class Design
Publisher: Brave Halfling Publishing
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2013 19:09:18
This is a great expansion for X-plorers!
Grab a copy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alien & Robot Class Design
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Retro Space Set Four: Space Hero Squad
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2013 19:08:24
Love it!
the color layers make it easy to make different squads or whatever.
can't wait for more!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Retro Space Set Four: Space Hero Squad
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dagger for Kids: Supplemental Rules for Classic Role-playing with Kids
Publisher: Brave Halfling Publishing
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2013 05:35:49
In a word, Dagger is Superb!

GET DAGGER if you have kids or even if you enjoy rules-light gaming as an adult. It uses any OSR game as a base, so you can use Descending or Ascending AC, whichever you like better. But even if you don't have your "big" books with you, You can play Dagger on the fly, so it may serve as a good, cheap, on the go pick up game or a simple game to introduce new players or to take camping. But to introduce kids to tabletop RPGs, it's perfect.

I think I'm becoming minimalist in my gaming preferences because Dagger has no Attributes and I find that liberating! That's right, no STR, DEX, CON etc... how is this possible? You know what? it totally works!

Dagger is designed to distill OSR/D&D down to the minimum to make it accessible for kids as young as 5. I dare say it does this flawlessly. This Sunday, I 'ran a combat' with my 5 year old daughter, and she basically got it on the first try. She just turned 5 in January and it was a hoot. I can totally see this working for kids 5-10. I can see how using figures would totally help with younger kids.

The spell list captures the iconic spells of the game, and the rule book states it's a suggested list. With only 4 spells of each level (levels 1-5) you may want to add more, and it's super easy to do (which was the bulk of my house rules). You can basically just plop in spells from from S&W, OSRIC, Labyrinth Lord, C&C, D&D Oe, 1e... not hard to fudge it on the fly even. That said, since this is for 5 to 10 year olds, keeping a tight focus (that is, short spell list) is wise. Also, with no Ability stats, spells like (Bull's) Strength and Haste simply won't work.

The characters are simple but effective at capturing the essence of each class, and here, as you may expect, Dwarf and Elf are classes. You can of course, call the Knight an Amazon or Warrior Princess or the Wizard a Fairy Princess or whatever any player wants, really. They can be a Gorn or zombie, even, and the rules support this on the fly make-believe fun; as they should!

So in brief, Dagger does what it sets out to do, and it does it well. It's great as an introduction to gaming for the young or for older kids or even grown ups who are afraid of dealing with a ton of rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dagger for Kids: Supplemental Rules for Classic Role-playing with Kids
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG