Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Hauptseite » Arion Games » Rezensionen
Close
Close
Browse
 Verlagsinfos









Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
von Frank M. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/29/2016 03:03:55

The Fighting Fantasy books passed me by -- I once found Sorcery and wondered what it was -- but a few years ago I discovered the AFF softcover. I was transported back to my first taste of RPGs, Metagaming's Melee and Wizard, where characters had only two or three characteristics, all directly relevant to the rules.


AFF characters have up to five: SKILL (how good you are at ... everything), STAMINA (how much punishment you can take), LUCK (how well you do when SKILL can't help you), and for magic-users MAGIC and (sometimes) MAGIC POINTS. Characters in AFF can also take Specialty Skills in particular tasks and Talents for an extra edge or advantage. Combat is straightforward: all combatants roll two dice, add SKILL and modifiers, and compare; if a character rolls higher than his target, the target takes damage. The rules have a few artifacts from the original FF books, e.g. roll under SKILL for unopposed tests but SKILL + 2d6 for opposed tests, but those simply add to its charm; an optional rule makes all uses of SKILL consistently roll-over.


Despite simple mechanics there's a wealth of information here: skills, talents, four forms of magic (Minor Magic, Wizardry, Sorcery, and Priestly Abilities), the history and geography of the Fighting Fantasy default world of Titan, GM advice, sample monsters, treasure, and optional rules. In short, this book everything you could want from a fantasy RPG, save a long list of monsters (that's Out of the Pit) and a detailed gazeteer (that's Titan).


Despite (or because of) its simple framework, AFF is an excellent vehicle for fantasy role-playing (and beyond, if a recent Kickstarter is any indication). In my mind it's on a par with RuneQuest, Warhammer Fantasy, classic/OSR D&D, and many of the newfangled indie systems elsewhere on this site.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
von Diogo N. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/27/2016 09:32:44

I began my journey through the RPG hobby with those little green books where you chose where to go next, which action to take and what would you say. The Fighting Fantasy books were a great introduction to fantasy gaming, and when I found out about Advanced Fighting Fantasy (Dungeoneer) I was thrilled!


Now, almost 20 years have passed, and a second edtion of AFF has been released by Arion Games. But this is essentialy the same game. The same simplicity and elegance remain in the system, with some improvement I might say. There isn't a set in stone class system, so you can make your character anyway you want it. You even have the option to do "Point Buy" character creation or go full "Random Stats" as a traditional Old Schooler, which I love!


The setting isn't fully described in this book (that's what the Titan book is all about) but you get the feeling of it and it's really great! It's a more mature, sober and darker fantaasy setting than the ones we usually get from the more well known fantasy RPG. This is british fantasy after all.


This game system also comes with two different magic systems and rules for priests that makes each type of caster feel very different from one another. Yet, they are all very simple to use, which is a plus.


All in all, this is one of the best game systems to introduce new players into the hobby, and a great game even for experienced tabletop gamers that what a system with a simple framework to work upon and explore a fantasy campaign more focused on the actual play than on the rules!



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Ultimate Humanoids Catalogue
von Christopher B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/24/2016 12:33:29

A interesting idea which really does not come off.
Descriptions which do not really say enough
No costs or why they are different than any other armour other than by discription.
IE



We have a real gem here. Every shield is tested by being
dropped in a swamp, left outside in the rain and dribbled on by a
giant toad, and not one of these shields leaves our warehouse with the
slightest damage. We cannot promise it will be unmarked by sword blows, but
mere damp and dribble will have no chance.



But what does it do?
What is different about it?
Not there best work



Wertung:
[3 von 5 Sternen!]
Ultimate Humanoids Catalogue
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review. It is important to note that the book was not written for any system or setting, thus the lack of specific details and are descriptions only. We provide the inspiration, the GM can provide the details to suit their own game. The pdf version also has a form-fillable price field for a GM to add their own price to suit their own campaign.
Nursery Tales Set
von David E S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 05/24/2016 19:33:50

This is another in Arion Game's series of minatures, done in their recognizable 3D, computer rendered style. I'm not necessarily a huge fan of their style, but it is a known factor, so I'm didn't dock them points for it. The cover is a picture of an actual minature from this set, and one can get a good impression of the human characters in this set from the covers of other volumes in their series.


For better and for worse, Arion Games has not taken the "as close to Disney or Dreamworks as we could get without them suing" approach so many others have done. The clothing choices and coloring choices are somewhat unusual. They're all designed in the Medium size range, for Pathfinder and D&D players; if Papa Bear, the tallest, is five and a half feet tall, no one is shorter than about four and a half feet. The pigs, Puss in Boots and Rumplestiltskin come out rather too tall.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Nursery Tales Set
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

UFO Crew Set
von Harald S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 03/14/2016 08:28:52

This is a nice set of "classic" Greys. They not only fit sci-fi based campaigns but can be used in pulp settings (among my favourites) and weird/mystery settings. The supplied UFO can even be used without the alien crew in pulp settings (again), weird war settings and/or metahuman (supers) settings. Very versatile! A nice set to have.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
UFO Crew Set
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Zulu Wars Redcoats Set
von Evan H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 02/20/2016 19:39:50

Good set of redcoats to serve as Extras for the Space: 1889 game I'm running. I like the mix of poses, and the cannon looks especially nice. I would have liked to see a bit more variety in the faces; maybe a mustache or two? Still, a perfectly serviceable platoon of colonial British regulars.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Zulu Wars Redcoats Set
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Steampunk Set
von Evan H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 02/20/2016 19:37:34

I must say I'm disappointed by this set. Almost every figure is wearing black or gray; no one stands out. Not all of the figures look "steampunk" to me; some seem just like general Victorian figures. These figs will probably end up as thugs or minions in my game; they don't really seem like heros. I also would have liked more than two female figures.



Wertung:
[2 von 5 Sternen!]
Steampunk Set
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Advanced Fighting Fantasy Quickstart
von Michael J. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 02/13/2016 11:46:34

sorry but it just seemed lacking quite a lot to be a non gamebook system.



Wertung:
[3 von 5 Sternen!]
Advanced Fighting Fantasy Quickstart
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Publisher Reply:
You have to remember that this is a quickstart. The 126 pages of rules in the full book have been stripped down and condensed into one and a half pages to make it quick and easy to play through and give you a taste of the full game.
human(ish)
von Customer Name Withheld [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/19/2016 16:56:04

When I found out that Graham Bottley, of Arion Games, had released a RPG where you play monsters, warlocks, and psychics powered by the FASERIP retroclone (the rules engine for TSR's Marvel Super Heroes RPG), I knew I had to check it out.


And I wasn't disappointed.


While the game admits to being inspired by the BBC show Being Human and White Wolf/Onyx Path's World of Darkness, I found it to be more inspired by our own folk lore and myth when presenting the creatures you play.


Human(ish) allows you to play vampires, werewolves, fey, warlocks, ghosts, ghouls, psychics and immortals.


If your familiar with any FASERIP game, you already know the Abilities: Fighting, Agility, Strength, Endurance, Reason, Intuition, and Psyche. Health and Wealth are also there, but Popularity and has essentially been replaced by Soul. Each type of supernatural has a pool similar to Karma, that may be spent for specific benefits.


The rules of the game are untouched as well, except for the old Green/Yellow/Red results changing to Bronze/Silver/Gold (which I like).


Characters are made by adding 2d10 together and determining your initial rank in your Abilities and Wealth. Soul is determined by the type of character you are. One thing I found to be odd was that Character Creation doesn't appear until Chapter Five.


Each character gets a Background of their choice, which is comprised of four skills (each skill grants a +1 Column Shift).


The final step of creating a character is choosing your Supernatural Origin, which lets you increase Ability scores, grants you powers and restrictions.


I found each type of supernatural interesting and intriguing.


Vampires: Drink the blood of their victims, but if they don't drain them completely they cannot feed on them again, as the blood tastes foul. When someone is drained completely they arise as a vampire 12 hours later. All vampires can control emotions, are physically tougher, can regenerate, have infravision, and can change into a bat (all supernaturals have X number of Ranks to increase their powers). And while sunlight is uncomfortable, it doesn't destroy them and they may work and function during the day. They lose Soul by feeding, but have a Blood rating that they may use to increase Ability scores, go into a rage, appear more human, and turn into mist.


Werewolves: These lycanthropes are infected with an uncurable disease and are forced to transform into a huge wolf on the three nights of the full moon. However, they may change also change and forth at will, but they have reduced intelligence and an insatiable hunger. They have powers of danger sense, regeneration, superb senses, vicious fangs and claws, and are super fast as runners and fighters. Their only restrictions are that they must change during the full moon and the insatiable hunger that overcomes them whenever they change. Eating prey gives the werewolf a pool which may raise Abilities or allow them to go into a frenzy.


Fey: Are those that have been abducted and return by faeries. The are frightened of and human contact and may control human emotions, craft illusions, manipulate probability, fly, and control darkness. The restrictions they face are unique and most stem from when they were taken and when they were returned. For instance, someone take in 1929 will be in awe of this strange new world and not really have any material or interpersonal resources when they arrive. Fey have a desire to connect to the world and may steal Soul from others and place them in a Kindred pool, but that action also weighs heavily upon them and costs them Soul. They may use Kindred to increase Abilities, open a doorway between two points or instill agony in any foes that surround them.


Warlock: These are people who have made an infernal bargain, their soul for power. They may blast their enemies, be served by a demonic creature, control machinery, create force fields, and bestow curses. Their restrictions are they are weary of entering holy ground and have their powers diminished there and must answer to their infernal master. They may sacrifice their Soul stat to gain Mana, which they use to increase Ability scores and instill fear.


Ghost: Are those who linger after their death. They are ethereal and can phase though objects, maymake themselves visible, fly, teleport, and are telekinetic. Their restriction is that they are a ghost. They lose Soul when they move closer to "moving on", which in essence means they can gain Afterlife by sacrificing Soul. Afterlife may used to increase Abilities, behave like a poltergeist and manifest physically.


Ghoul: Are the souless dead, whose bodies remain here, where they eat the flesh of the newly dead. Since they are dead they don't need to eat, drink, or breathe and are physically very tough, they regenerate, and have superior senses. Their restrictions come from their existence as souless carrion hunters, making their ability to socialize very difficult. They lose Soul when they eat a dead body, however it provides them with a pool of Flesh points that allows the to increase Ability scores, knit their own flesh and acquire knowledge.


Psychic: You were born with a sixth sense or may move objects with your mind. Psychics can choose four powers from the following list: astral projection, danger sense, spirit detection, ESP, telekinesis, mentally blast someone, mentally shield themselves from a psychic assault, postcognition, precogntion, or telepathy. Their restrictions are that they are only human. They lose Soul by spending it for Psychic Energy, which is a pool they use to increase Abilities, create a mental beacon or focus their power.


Immortals: Adults who have stopped aging, are extremely tough and are immune to disease. They face no great restrictions and lose Soul by witnessing or causing a terrible act. However, those atrocities power their need for Revenge which they may use to increase Abilities, stun their enemies with a scream of ages, or get payback against a foe.


The setting is mostly left up to each GM, but there is some advice on playing yourself.


Overall, I think this is a fine FASERIP game that uses the strengths of the system, remembers its superpowered roots, but forces you to make hard decisions and face dark questions.


I recommend this game.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
human(ish)
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Fantasy Court Set
von Customer Name Withheld [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/23/2015 11:40:01

Great set for a great price. I know it's a few years old at this point but, seriously, twenty-five cents? Amazing.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Fantasy Court Set
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Manor Cartography Symbols
von Markus D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/07/2015 13:36:36

I love all three Mr Nibbs Map sets and though myself completely untalented was able to create a nice map quite easily. What I missed were shrines or temples, stores, streets, desert (village), jungle and so on ...- so this is more like for a rural setting in medieval europe, which of course is the most important setting to fantasy GMs. But hopefully some more sets will be released in the future.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Manor Cartography Symbols
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

MapMaker Set I
von Markus D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/07/2015 12:50:00

This set is great for creating landscapes and after reading the helpful tutorial i was able to "draw" a map by positioning the png files (sometimes you have to scale or mirror them) quite easily (and I am extremely untalented!). My impression is that the two 3 star ratings are because of the license which doesn't allow for commercial use. So you can publish your map on your website but you cannot sale it as part of an adventure here on DrivethruRPG. But that's only my guess. Personally I think as a GM you can do a lot with these 3 beautiful sets available at Arion Games and I would only wish there would be additional releases of Mr Nibbs Cartography map maker sets including for example some shrines / temples, rivers, streets, some more(!) mountains / hills, bridges and so on. Absolutely recommendable!



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
MapMaker Set I
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Robin Hood Set
von Markus D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/06/2015 15:38:40

As a fantasy GM there were some very helpful characters, like friar tuck as travelling fat monk able to defend himself, little john as an angry staff fighter and Allan-a-dale as a bard holding his "guitar" (mandolin) like a rock star etc. IMHO at least 11 characters can be described as "setting-independent" NPCs to be used without any problems in medieval fantasy settings (e.g. no coat of arms). Can recommend to fantasy GMs especially if you can buy it at a reduced price.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Robin Hood Set
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

City Watch Set
von Markus D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/06/2015 15:00:00

Very useful addition for every fantasy GM! Also some variety, not just male /female but older /younger, with or without lantern, different weapons, and also elves and dwarves included, and the captain could be used as individual fantasy NPC - can recommend!



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
City Watch Set
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

John Kapsalis Villagers
von Markus D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/06/2015 14:49:46

This is a HUGE package of paper minis (>30) and i personally like all of them as i believe they can convey a more personal / individualistic touch to the NPC and add an old School feeling to the RPG.
In contrast to the other paper minis from Arion Games you won't get the triagonal version, so only flat or A-frame can be constructed and as mentioned in another review, instead of a backside image you receive only a black shadow (silhouette). Still at this price this is a fantastic offer and i am very glad i gave it a try.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
John Kapsalis Villagers
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 934 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
Powered by DrivethruRPG