Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Hauptseite » Arion Games » Rezensionen
Close
Close
Umschauen
 Verlagsinfos









Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
Titan Map
von Jeffrey V. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/28/2016 13:40:40

First, let me say, it's a good map, and it's well scanned and presented. However, it's the same exact map that's in the book "Titan." If you own Titan, you have this map. There's nothing new here per se; no additional information, no new names, no extra detail. Charging $3.00 for the same exact thing you already own seems...a bit steep, I guess.

Now, if you DON'T own Titan, I can see this might be a useful way to see the world, but frankly, I think you'd be MUCH better off buying Titan -- you get the map, AND you get the background information that allows you to effectively run AFF in the world it was set in in the game books; all in all, a much better deal and a much more efficient use of your money.

Anyway, that's why I gave it an overall "3" -- it's a "nice to have," I guess, but for $3.00, not so much. I'd strongly recommend you commit that $3.00 towards the purchase price of the AFF Book Titan instead; you won't regret it.



Wertung:
[3 von 5 Sternen!]
Titan Map
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Kommentar des Verlages:
It is pretty much the same map, although it is newly drawn. What i would also say is that this is a high-res image that could easily be printed as an A1 poster without any pixelation etc. Whether that is a benefit to you will vary by customer of course!
Maelstrom
von Customer Name Withheld [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/11/2016 12:06:41

This was clearly not read through after the OCR rip and features numerous faults - additionally all the white space pages from the original book have been pointlessly left in the pdf version - very lazy job.



Wertung:
[2 von 5 Sternen!]
Maelstrom
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Titan
von Michael M. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/30/2016 20:56:13

Titan is a uniquely original fantasy setting and a great reference book for any fantasy RPG.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Titan
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Sorcery Spell Book
von Michael M. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/30/2016 20:46:14

Great Illustrations, primarily a reference book of spells for use with the game system.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Sorcery Spell Book
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Crown of Kings - The Sorcery Campaign
von Raymond W. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/23/2016 01:41:52

As a fan (from way back) of the original Sorcery! series, as well as the recent excellent video game adaptation, I was very disappointed by Crown of Kings - The Sorcery Campaign. This adaptation from gamebook to tabletop RPG campaign ends up being far too literal. What worked as a gamebook in 1985 does not translate well to the roleplaying tabletop in 2016. The GM info on how to handle each encounter is straight out of the book, with no explanations for seemingly illogical NPC actions. While this behavior may have contributed to a kind of unpredictable fairy tale logic in the original books, here it leaves a GM with little understanding of how to run an encounter that ends up straying outside the expectations of the text. The adventure is presented as a pure pointcrawl, with no notion of what to do if the adventurers try to travel overland.

As an example, the PCs can creep by goblins and an ogre to infiltrate a goblin mine. If they are seen, they will be immediately attacked, with no real explanation of why. What if the PCs want to parlay? It's hard to know how they would respond, unless the GM just decides that they keep attacking no matter what the disposition of the party or the odds. Later on, the party can encounter a goblin overseer, who will challenge the party if he sees them, but let them leave safely if they immediately withdraw. Why doesn't he attack immediately? Why does he just ignore the party if they withdraw? Why does he ever attack? It makes no sense, and good luck trying to GM that as anything but a narrated gamebook.

Another example: When the party infiltrates the city of Khare, the GM is instructed that the PCs must be captured and temporarily incarcerated by the watch upon entry. It is explicitly stated that this is important to the plot! On top of this, even though the party should be captured, they will not be disarmed or otherwise divested of their possessions. Honestly, I've never before seen of such an extreme instance of railroading the PCs.

For what it's worth, it is a faithful adaptation, complete with the original artwork. The layout is pleasing and very readable, and the writing is fine. I just think that this product compares very poorly with the highly imaginative Sorcery! adaptation to video games. It's unfortunate when a video game exceeds a tabletop roleplaying game in terms of demonstrating what can be accomplished by taking the source material in new directions. There are a lot of missed opportunities with this book, unfortunately.



Wertung:
[2 von 5 Sternen!]
Crown of Kings - The Sorcery Campaign
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Blacksand
von Jason W. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/18/2016 06:53:39

It is everything I had hoped it would be and more!



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Blacksand
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Blacksand
von Michael M. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/16/2016 19:55:04

In every great story/world, weither its fantasy or scifi, there is always that one city that is the wretched hive of scum & villany,a true source of endless adventure.Blacksand is just that city! primarily for the Advanced Fighting Fantasy world of Allansia, if you aren't using the AFF RPG this sourcebook it could be modified for any system you like because its filled with lots of npc's, story hooks, types of gambling games, tavern menus, etc. all organized by district. If you're looking for an old school adventure fantasy setting with a dash of Lankhmar, then give it a try.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
MapMaker Set I
von Customer Name Withheld [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/04/2016 09:21:34

Excellent for a "novice mapper" who is not skilled a drawing, use of GIMP etc. to create a nice visual-reminder/cue type pictoral map just doing some cut and paste, image flipping, overlapping etc.

It would be great if there were more in the series with more RPG map elements such as ruins, stone henge circles and such.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
MapMaker Set I
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Arabian Nights Set
von Robyn C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/27/2016 10:34:38

Now I bought this set more out of curiosity than anything. Very good detail as always and ideal for it's purpose eg Sinbad and co. That said I can also see it being used for some more detail in a Sword & Ssorcery scenario.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Arabian Nights Set
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Sword and Sorcery II Set
von Robyn C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/27/2016 10:31:55

I purchased these as much for inspiration as actual use. That said I will be using them, they add to the original Sword & Sorcery set and the detail is as always excellent.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Sword and Sorcery II Set
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
von Todor P. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/08/2016 03:23:07

A great introductory system for younger players and a superb rulebook for returning long-time FF fans. The game works off a 2d6 + modifiers system that is a breeze, the flavor is great and the spell fumble table is called The Oops! table. It allows for your character to grow their hair to floor length in an hour, among other results.

At this price, this is a no-brainer purchase.

Finally, a word of thanks to Mr. Bottley who led a long and ultimately successful crusade to release this beauty in PDF format!



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Ancients Set [BUNDLE]
von Robyn C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/31/2016 05:47:30

This is an excellent set of figures, useful for both RPG's and Wargames. With a little effort and imagination you could run Sword & Sorcery, Horror or just plain Historical campaigns with very little difficulty. Plus the price is a bargain.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Ancients Set [BUNDLE]
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
von Frank M. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/29/2016 03:03:55

The Fighting Fantasy books passed me by -- I once found Sorcery and wondered what it was -- but a few years ago I discovered the AFF softcover. I was transported back to my first taste of RPGs, Metagaming's Melee and Wizard, where characters had only two or three characteristics, all directly relevant to the rules.

AFF characters have up to five: SKILL (how good you are at ... everything), STAMINA (how much punishment you can take), LUCK (how well you do when SKILL can't help you), and for magic-users MAGIC and (sometimes) MAGIC POINTS. Characters in AFF can also take Specialty Skills in particular tasks and Talents for an extra edge or advantage. Combat is straightforward: all combatants roll two dice, add SKILL and modifiers, and compare; if a character rolls higher than his target, the target takes damage. The rules have a few artifacts from the original FF books, e.g. roll under SKILL for unopposed tests but SKILL + 2d6 for opposed tests, but those simply add to its charm; an optional rule makes all uses of SKILL consistently roll-over.

Despite simple mechanics there's a wealth of information here: skills, talents, four forms of magic (Minor Magic, Wizardry, Sorcery, and Priestly Abilities), the history and geography of the Fighting Fantasy default world of Titan, GM advice, sample monsters, treasure, and optional rules. In short, this book everything you could want from a fantasy RPG, save a long list of monsters (that's Out of the Pit) and a detailed gazeteer (that's Titan).

Despite (or because of) its simple framework, AFF is an excellent vehicle for fantasy role-playing (and beyond, if a recent Kickstarter is any indication). In my mind it's on a par with RuneQuest, Warhammer Fantasy, classic/OSR D&D, and many of the newfangled indie systems elsewhere on this site.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
von Diogo N. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/27/2016 09:32:44

I began my journey through the RPG hobby with those little green books where you chose where to go next, which action to take and what would you say. The Fighting Fantasy books were a great introduction to fantasy gaming, and when I found out about Advanced Fighting Fantasy (Dungeoneer) I was thrilled!

Now, almost 20 years have passed, and a second edtion of AFF has been released by Arion Games. But this is essentialy the same game. The same simplicity and elegance remain in the system, with some improvement I might say. There isn't a set in stone class system, so you can make your character anyway you want it. You even have the option to do "Point Buy" character creation or go full "Random Stats" as a traditional Old Schooler, which I love!

The setting isn't fully described in this book (that's what the Titan book is all about) but you get the feeling of it and it's really great! It's a more mature, sober and darker fantaasy setting than the ones we usually get from the more well known fantasy RPG. This is british fantasy after all.

This game system also comes with two different magic systems and rules for priests that makes each type of caster feel very different from one another. Yet, they are all very simple to use, which is a plus.

All in all, this is one of the best game systems to introduce new players into the hobby, and a great game even for experienced tabletop gamers that what a system with a simple framework to work upon and explore a fantasy campaign more focused on the actual play than on the rules!



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Ultimate Humanoids Catalogue
von Christopher B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/24/2016 12:33:29

A interesting idea which really does not come off. Descriptions which do not really say enough No costs or why they are different than any other armour other than by discription. IE

We have a real gem here. Every shield is tested by being dropped in a swamp, left outside in the rain and dribbled on by a giant toad, and not one of these shields leaves our warehouse with the slightest damage. We cannot promise it will be unmarked by sword blows, but mere damp and dribble will have no chance.

But what does it do? What is different about it? Not there best work



Wertung:
[3 von 5 Sternen!]
Ultimate Humanoids Catalogue
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur Adamant Entertainment Bestellung hinzufügen

Kommentar des Verlages:
Thanks for the review. It is important to note that the book was not written for any system or setting, thus the lack of specific details and are descriptions only. We provide the inspiration, the GM can provide the details to suit their own game. The pdf version also has a form-fillable price field for a GM to add their own price to suit their own campaign.
Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 946 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
Powered by DrivethruRPG