Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Home » Azukail Games » Reviews
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
100 Irrelevant Notes and Letters to Bamboozle Players
by Hannu M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2017 13:27:06

My name is Hannu and I run 6 paid games per week at Roll20 for a total of 30 paid players per week, and I have to say this is the best euro I ever spent. One hundred letters with just enough information to leave players hooked and wanting for more. Any of these could well fit into a professional game.

Would buy more from the author, either lists of interesting letters for the players to find or compelling situations for them to come across where they have to make choices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Irrelevant Notes and Letters to Bamboozle Players
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks! Glad you like it; I had quite a bit of fun writing it. I had been thinking of doing a sequel. I'm curious, do you have any examples of "compelling situations for them to come across where they have to make choices"? I don't think you can reply to this again, so if you could post something in the comments it would be appreciated thanks.
Tomes of Cthulhu
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2016 13:02:41

This is an extremely well-done bit of Keeper prep that saves the busy Keeper quite a bit of time and effort. It contains 20 different tomes that are described in loving detail and include system agnostic information that is easily translatable into your Cthulhu gaming system of choice. You are required to do a bit of work to translate the books into SAN losses and/or Cthulhu Mythos knowledge (to use the Call of Cthulhu system as an example), but they provide a useful guideline phrase that gives you a sense of where those numbers ought to be.

The detail in the entries is fairly deep -- with thorough descriptions of the physical characteristics of the book, a detailed discussion of how the book was found or created in the first place (and, btw, they aren't all "books" -- some are carven stones, etc.) and where it might be found "today" (whenever "today" is in your game). Each entry is chock-full of the kinds of details that make it easy for the player to visualize the book, and the kind of information that the Keeper can dribble out to them as they research the item. In several cases, there are differing editions of the work as well, meaning you actually get quite a few more options than you might think for providing the information to the players. I can see this as being particularly useful to a Bookhounds of London (Trail of Cthulhu) sort of campaign. In short, very well done. One note of warning though; as a general rule, the books in here are more written for gaming eras from the Gaslight era (1890's) on; though with a bit of work (quite a bit in some cases) you could probably convert them to the dark ages or Roman empire eras. Still, in my limited experience, those earlier eras aren't quite as dependent on scholarly research (as opposed to information gathering by talking to people or physically surveying a given site) as the later eras are, so your mileage may vary, and since the original sources of the books are usually described (the soapstone carvings that Darwin recorded, for instance), you can possibly have your earlier era characters stumble on the originals anyway.

Do you NEED this book? Not at all -- a good, imaginative Keeper or GM can easily develop books just as complex and rich as these; however if you're as busy as most of us are, you will definitely WANT this book; it will save you hours and hours of work that you can instead devote to other areas.

Physically, the quality of the PDF is excellent, with no scanning issues, good margins, and no coloring problems to make it hard to read or anything. I didn't notice a single misspellling or grammar error in the book either -- which, in today's world, is frankly rather amazing. All in all, well worth acquiring for your Cthulhu gaming needs. The price is good at $3.00 on sale, or $4.00 regularly, so all-in-all, I'd say this is well worth the purchase price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomes of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Fantasy Beer Name Generator
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2016 07:42:48

At 7 pages, 6 are the content. P2 informs you how to use the tables. P3 & 4 give examples. Pages 5-7 are the tables.

The PDF is colour throughout, with pictures of steins/tankards/bottles.

Some of the results rolled can be somewhat amusing.

At 35 pence/46 cents, it's very much worth getting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Beer Name Generator
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

100 Creepy Things and Events to Encounter Outdoors
by Peter R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2016 15:11:00

A wonderful collection that will bring to mind some of the classic Hammer Horror movies as well as Hitchcock's The Birds. There is enough here to keep a party of characters jumping at their own shadows for many adventures. The publication lists 100 happenings or situations to thrust your players into such as half glimpsed figures or surreal mists and fogs to stray dogs who's leads end in bloody tatters. What you make of them is limited only by how cruel you enjoy being to your players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Creepy Things and Events to Encounter Outdoors
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

100 Creepy Things and Events to Find in a Spooky House II
by Peter R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2016 15:06:15

I have both the original Spooky House and this Spooky House II. Together you 100 unique special effects or adventure hooks to use on your players. I particularly like the use of every day objects especially suggestions for using something as common as doors. Some of this selection of 100 things are real horror classics, some are new twists.

I personally could use many as jumping off points for entirely new adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Creepy Things and Events to Find in a Spooky House II
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

100 Creepy Things and Events to Find in a Spooky House
by Peter R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2016 06:41:23

This is an extensive list of spooky events, with descriptions, that you can either drop into a game or be used as adventure hooks. I have had this nearly a week and so many of the suggestions just scream out to be turned into full adventures that thios will keep me going for years.

A few of the suggestions are tied to particular times such as references to computers but these are few and far between.

Well woth the money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Creepy Things and Events to Find in a Spooky House
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Tomes of Alchemy
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2015 11:23:02

A great compilation of in-game books. Listing a little of their backstories, and potential uses for the books. Easy to create hooks and plots with the books as the goal or the books guiding the way to the creation of some lost lore.

On the downside, no index of books listed within nor the ability to create bookmarks in the pdf. It would be nice quickly flip to the desired book without having to memorize this booklet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tomes of Alchemy
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Publisher Reply:
I had actually just thought a few weeks back that bookmarks would be really useful. Unfortunately, bookmarks seem to be something that Scribus is poor at, rather like tables. If I can get it to easily add bookmarks, I\'m going to do so. Otherwise, it will probably have to wait until I get InDesign.
Tomes of Alchemy
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2015 18:20:52

My opinion - this is cool! Though players may find its in-game use sort of limited, its contents can add an entirely new and unexplored dimension to game play. Some of the books are described as being valuable only as a collectible, but others have potential to be something more. The in-game use of the books is also described by the authors in an open-ended fashion - i.e. "Though this book could be useful for someone with the right skills, for most it just helps their chances at being able to do something basic". But any decent GM/DM won't have too much trouble in planning out side-quests and adventures around any of the books that this product describes. I mean, who doesn't want to collect various bits and pieces from monster corpses (scales, feathers, organs) and make some sort of cool potion out of them!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG