Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Home » Creation's Edge Games » Reviews
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 What's New?
(ME007) The Mines of Valdhum
(ME007) The Mines of Valdhum
$6.66









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2012 05:51:55
This pdf is 22 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1/3 of a page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, which leaves us with 18 2/3 pages of magic weapons, so let's check these out!

The pdf starts with a short bit of unrelated prose before giving us a whole page of d%-tables and then going into the items:

First of all, we get a lot of weapons with added spell effects thematically fitting with their enchantments and thankfully, exotic weapons like katars and nets also get some, including the electrified net classic. Most of the items are quite solid in their design, albeit somewhat minimalistic, beyond the absolute basic information and perhaps half a line, aficionados of fluff don't get much out of this offering. My absolute favorite, if somewhat strange weapons, were the Jester's Daggers: If you juggle them for a round, you can throw them with a true strike at a foe. However, the description is not clear whether this uses your full BAB or iterative attacks.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are ok, but not good - I noticed several glitches that forced me to re-read the respective item-entries in order to understand them. Layout adheres to a horizontal 3-column standard and the artworks by Sade, though not my cup of coffee, are ok. The pdf has no bookmarks, though, which is a bummer. While the items in this pdf go beyond simply providing a list of special weapon qualities, a strange feeling never truly left me. The feeling that these items are ABSTRACT. Take a crossbow that once per day can shoot an ally. If the bolt hits, is instead deals no damage, but heals him.

What? Why? Other items use mechanics that change their stats (e.g. a two-bladed sword that changes from +1/+1 wounding to +2/+2 icy burst for 3 rounds after killing a foe) or repositioning yourself or your foes via minor damage and without taking CMB/CMD into account, which is how this kind of stuff is done in Pathfinder. This sense of abstractness forced itself upon me and made me feel rather like I was reading a magic item supermarket pamphlet instead of looking at enchanted, truly magical weapons. And even my Jester's Daggers... why can't one use Perform (Juggle) with them if you get hit and instead have to make a ref-save?

Wait. I got it. Repositioning. Effects that change when foes are killed or hampered. Ring any bells? Yep, 4th edition. I'm not familiar with the designers and whether they have until now exclusively worked for 4th ed., but this pdf feels just a bit wrong to me. Add to that the Wallmart-flair and I'd rather advise you to check out Headless Hydra Games excellent 15 Specific Weapons-series - they offer a more unique flair and feel less like mass-productions. That being said, the low price still makes this an ok, albeit not truly awesome purchase and thus I'll remain with a final verdict of 2.5 stars, rounded up to 3.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2012 21:19:51
Wow, this is an impressive and creative collection of magic weapons. I cannot wait to get some in the hands of my PCs. They all are well thought out and a very diverse, fitting many different styles of play. No matter if you're a hack and slasher or stab and dasher you'll find some extremely fun weapons in this collection. It's only 2 bucks, can't miss at that price. Love it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/01/2012 13:47:54
101 Magic Weapons has weapons that will be useful to many different characters, across many different classes and alignments. Some of them are quite fitting for a character type while others seem to fill a niche that I'm not familiar with. The book is very well laid out and quite attractive. The table of contents at the front of the book is easy to read. This book is a great resource, either for when you're looking for that perfect magic weapon, or searching for ideas that you haven't had, yet. The pages are landscape oriented, so it's very easy to use this book as a reference on the computer.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions 2 (4E)
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2011 11:27:05
Technically, looks and reads great. However, the content strikes me as overpowered. That is, the magic items are set at item levels which are too low. This is easily fixed by the DM changing the item level & cost (if the players are allowed to buy these items) or by only having these items found as treasure or received as rewards.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions 2 (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions (4E)
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2011 11:26:41
Technically, looks and reads great. However, the content strikes me as overpowered. That is, the magic items are set at item levels which are too low. This is easily fixed by the DM changing the item level & cost (if the players are allowed to buy these items) or by only having these items found as treasure or received as rewards.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Boots 2 (4E)
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/15/2010 22:11:43
This is a handy little supplement for a buck. It has 25 magic pairs of boots for 4E. Many of them allow you to do a nifty movement trick, which is standard for a 4E boots. I particularly like the Charge Dodge Sandals that give you a bonus against charge attacks and a nice little power along with it. You get the list of items, cards to print and give to players, and the cover art. Worth all 100 pennies for sure.

The only issue I have with this particular set of items is they tend to clump around Lvl 8 and Lvl 18-19. Not a ton of epic level items, but that may be the next supplement. I'll be sure and look for it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Boots 2 (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Karma Deck – 4th Edition
by Jeff G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/20/2010 19:42:21
I found this product to be AWESOME! It's not often I give a glowing review with no problems, but this product does exactly what it's supposed to do, does it well, and looks good doing it.

In my game I use the Karma deck to show the favor of the gods. If the PCs do something that the gods might reward then I give them a card to use at a time that they choose. It gives them a bit of a boost and solidifies the importance of the influence of the gods in my current campaign.

The cards give the PC a bit of a boost, some extra damage, an extra little ability or defense. Not enough to completely unbalance the game or encounter, but just enough to tip the scales in a single combat just enough.

If I had only one critique is that it does seem a bit pricey for what is essentially a medium sized set of cards.

This will be an integral part of the rest of my campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Karma Deck – 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Karma Deck – 4th Edition
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/02/2010 13:04:36
Conceptually, Creation Edge's Karma Deck provides a simple and interesting way to incorporate karma, divine favor, or other boons into D&D 4e. You can hand out "karma cards" as rewards for, well, anything you want. A player can then use a karma card during combat to swing fate to his or her PC's advantage. I've been looking for an additional reward system to add to my campaign for some time. I was thinking about just adding bonus d6s that players could add to any d20 roll, but the Karma Cards provide more variety and therefore seem to present a better option.

The cards' benefits do vary in intensity and usefulness, as befits a random pool. For example, one card provides a healing surge, another provides 5 temporary hit points, and another allows you to redo an unsuccessful attack roll. I did not find any of the effects objectionable (in terms of power level or "swinginess"), but of course any DM who likes most, but not all, of the effects can just leave selected cards out of the deck.

Creation's Edge provides many helpful suggestions for how to assemble and use the deck, but for some reason these come at the end of the PDF rather than at the beginning. The instructions are also formatted on cards, which means that half of the instructions are printed upside-down relative to the other half—so you'll need to print out the instruction page as well as the other cards.

I find this product quite fun, and while I haven't firmly decided whether to incorporate it into my current D&D campaign, I think I probably will. However, I must point out the product's great weakness, its poorly-edited prose. The ratio of grammatical errors and stylistic oddities to word count is annoyingly high. There's no need for me to list all the errors here; suffice it to say that I could not find a single error-free page anywhere in the document. Sometimes, the errors or oddities do affect game mechanics. Most significant are ambiguities like the one on Fortunate Ricochet: "Pick a second target up to 3 squares away"—away from whom? I presume that "away from the original target" is intended, but the card isn't clear. Similarly, some cards increase damage such that "Your die roll is equal to the highest possible die roll result," but what if your damage expression contains more than one die? Again, I presume that the author intended for the card to apply to all dice rolled for that instance of damage-dealing, but the card doesn't actually say that. I'm not sure why the card doesn't just read "your attack deals maximum damage," in keeping with the phrasing used to describe the effects of critical hits (Player's Handbook, p. 276). Other errors don't affect gameplay, but are simply embarrassing, such as the not-infrequent use of "your" where a sentence demands "you're." These grammatical errors will not stop me from using the Karma Deck in my games (though they did bring down the star rating on this review), but they do significantly mar an otherwise well-conceived and well-executed product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the great review! On 5/8/10 we posted new files which should correct most if not all of the spelling/grammar mistakes.
Buck-A-Batch: Wondrous Items (4E)
by Peter I. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/31/2009 09:50:19
Buck-A-Batch: Wondrous Items (4E) is a 14 page supplement detailing 25 new and unique magical wondrous items for your 4e GSL fantasy game. This product in one of several in the Buck-A-Batch series, and like the name says, you pay a dollar for a batch of new content and material for your game. Buck-A-Batch products deal with magical items and treasure, providing you with a quick and easy way to expand your fantasy game by including new items in it.

This product comes as a zip file containing 4 individual files - a front cover pdf, a back cover pdf, a main pdf detailing the items, and a supplementary pdf with printable cards containing the details of each item. Why these various files were not also combined into one large one for convenience is something I'm not sure about. Certainly it would've been a lot more useful and easier to view on screen. Design, writing, layout and editing are all good, and the general presentation is fair. The product contains a useful table that sorts the magical items by level and cost, something handy for a quick reference. The product is designed to be 'three-ring-binder' friendly, meaning that the left margin is larger than the right margin to accommodate the binder. Overall, a fair presentation for a short product, that fits in nicely with the other products in the Buck-A-Batch series.

I'm quite a fan of short pdf products. With a longer pdf you're almost certain to find something in the product that you like. With a short pdf, you're more likely to either find something that doesn't appeal to you, or otherwise you might find something of a gem. Short pdfs cater very well to clever concepts, new ideas and other design craft that doesn't require a longer product to explain or elaborate. I'd almost be willing to say that a lot of the innovations in the 3e OGL and the 4e GSL come from short pdf products. In any case, Buck-A-Batch: Wondrous Items is another short pdf that shows some good material with some useful and unique ideas.

The product contains 25 wondrous items, items that can by and large be used by every character class and are useful for a variety of tasks, combat or utility. Item levels range from 2 to 25, with gold piece costs from as little as 500 gp to a whopping 625 000 gp. Much like the level and cost, you have items dealing with all sorts of things, from summoning monsters, to creating zones susceptible to energy, to items that make teleportation difficult, to magical stones that can be used as a clever alarm system. There really is something for every class and character in here, and that says a lot for only 25 items in the product. For the most part, these items don't appear to have any problems with them, showing good utility and uniqueness that will fit into any gaming world.

Overall, this was a neat pdf. It had many items that you can easily see in play, and that most characters will find useful. These items enhance your strategic and tactical possibilities in combat, and some are useful utility items. I'd hoped to see a few more wondrous items that aren't so directly combat focused, but for the most part I was pleased with this product. Contains some good material at good value and well worth a look at.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Wondrous Items (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Boots (4E)
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2009 19:33:13
I expected interesting concepts from this instalment and indeed it delivers. Lots of mechanical problems with this one though. It gets 4 stars on the basis of low price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Boots (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions (4E)
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2009 19:19:01
Contains 25 consumables, using the "Adventurer's Vault" rules, that grant a variety of useful temporary powers. Despite the occasional minor mechanical quibble, as any product might have (I'd take their design and editing over WotC's) it's great value for a dollar. Also contains item cards.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Armor (4E)
by Brandon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2008 20:28:46
A good buy for the money.

The armors can be a bit under leveled, add 2 two everything's level and you get things about right. Lots of at will powers, and properties (in the same items!), but still balanced. I recommend throwing them in as surprise items in your games, and not letting the players see the supplement.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Armor (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Armor (4E)
by Colin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2008 10:27:11
This product is worth far more than the $1.00 I paid for it. There are dozens of new types of magic armor, and each is unique and creatively designed. The armors scale all tiers of play and nearly every level. There are suits of armor for every character role. I wish that I could play enough to include each suit as a piece of treasure.

The layout of the book is simple and easy to navigate. The language is clear and straightforward. The only art is on the cover but this is to be expected for such an inexpensive product.

I too had issues with opening the .pdf at first. I contacted Matt at CEG and he was very timely with his e-mails and eager to fix the issues. I had to download WinRAR but I don't see this as a negative thing. I was able to see the book in less than three hours after my purchase. In any event the file is in .zip format now so it won't give anyone any more trouble. Creation's Edge Games backs up the great quality of their products with great service that I wish I got from larger companies; gaming and otherwise.

This is the first Creation's Edge product I've purchased and I know it won't be the last.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Armor (4E)
by Jamie P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2008 13:39:51
this is a revision to my previous review and an apology I should have contacted Creation's edge prior to posting a negative review. Let me say now that i have a working link this is a LOT of product for a $1. Well done and i will be buying future products as well. Well done and a good investment for those looking for more well-designed and balanced items

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Armor (4E)
by Jamie P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2008 15:17:34
file type is .rar beware i couldnt open it after i bought it :(

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
This technical issue has been resolved. You should be able to download the correct file now. If you’re still having problems please feel free to contact me directly through the Creation’s Edge Games website. Thank you.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 149 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Creation's Edge Games
Creation's Edge Games
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (60)
Powered by DrivethruRPG