Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Home » Alea Publishing Group » Reviews
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
APG Paper Figures: Gladiators ($1.00)
by Adrian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2014 15:54:18
The quality is good but I'm afraid that I have a couple of gripes.

For a 3D figure to be printed out I was expecting 3 different views for each figure (left side, right side and rear, maybe) but this only occurred on THREE of the figures and two of those were the same figure but with different shields!

Also, these 2 figures were female. I was looking towards maybe using these to try out games rules before spending a fortune on lead but this is not possible. My other gripe is why have so many copies for each figure? Why not have just one or two copies for each figure and have more, different gladiators? Folk could print off as many copies of a figure as they need.

One last suggestion, could you put a tag on the pictures for glue to be put onto them?

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
APG Paper Figures: Gladiators ($1.00)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

APG Paper Figures: Military Orders ($1.00)
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2013 10:59:06
An interesting product, using photographs instead of drawings or 3D renders.

The good: low price, sharp photographs of beautifully painted and detailed miniatures.

The bad: weapons and shields cut in some pictures. Many of these feel more like "placeholders" than miniatures.

Conclusion: still worth the purchase if you need some paper miniatures of knights standing on foot -- not in combat poses.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
APG Paper Figures: Military Orders ($1.00)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Medieval Landscapes: Peasant House
by JK R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2013 07:15:28
This is an excellent introduction to the everyday life of a peasant in a more-or-less European feudal society. It is 16 pages long (plus cover and contents page), and entirely rules free. Half of those pages are taken up with high quality computer-designed images of a peasant village and the interior of a typical home - these are provided both with, and without, a key pointing out specific features.

The remainder of the book describes the life of a peasant, providing a basic background to the bottom rung of the feudal system in Europe. It describes how the system works from a legal and practical viewpoint, as well as such matters as food, clothing, housing, tools, and the agricultural calendar. There are also suggestions or how some of the main character classes relate to the peasantry, and halfling, dwarven, and elvish attitudes towards the feudal system. Naturally, the latter may vary somewhat depending on particular campaigns, but its a decent starting point. There is also a list of fifteen possible plot hooks for use in game.

The layout is good, if colour-heavy. There are a few minor glitches in the proof-reading here and there, but nothing to cause any sort of problem. It is, of course, specific to a campaign based on medieval European society and climate, but that's not much of a limitation in most games.

I'd highly recommend this as a good, clear an simple, view of peasant society for anyone wanting to add more flavour or short encounters for PCs wandering through agricultural countryside.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Landscapes: Peasant House
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Aspyrias Adventuring System 101: Character Creation
by umberto p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2012 08:34:18
Very interesting freebie. I am definetly interested in this game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aspyrias Adventuring System 101: Character Creation
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Aspyrias Adventuring System 101: Core Mechanics
by David L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2012 16:00:56
an interesting mechanic. unfortunately i dont have the cords dt needs nor can i aford them right now.
looks like an interesting system for those who wish to invest.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aspyrias Adventuring System 101: Core Mechanics
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Aspyrias Adventuring System 101: Core Mechanics
by umberto p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2012 06:34:17
It seems very interesting. Excellent presentation too. I'll like to see in future info about character creation.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aspyrias Adventuring System 101: Core Mechanics
by William A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2012 18:47:45
I was hoping to see something that maybe I could print out a few cards for my friends and we could test out an encounter. Unfortunately this wasn't the case. I'm very interested in this and am planning on adding in to the kickstarter, but I was hoping this file would have given me more of an idea of what we were looking at.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer's Guide to Cthonia
by Rémi T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2012 05:04:11
Sans doute le monde le plus intéressant publié par un éditeur non officiel pour la 4ème édition de D&D.
Un monde médiéval proche du nôtre, plus gritty ; cette introduction au monde offre tout pour commencer, le livre est plein de petits systèmes pour faire coller D&D4 à ce monde si particulier, et on trouve les dieux et un atlas global (qui ne rentre pas dans les détails malheureusement) ; le livre est très beau, très professionnel niveau mise en page. On en a pour son argent, dommage qu'il n'y ai pas d'option de PoD à l'heure où j'écris ces lignes !

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer's Guide to Cthonia
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Medieval Life and Laws
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/25/2012 09:05:04
For D&D 4e, a very succinct 32-page supplement on bringing medieval life to the game, focusing on creating NPCs (and giving them some interesting powers) and very high-level information on how homes, castles, and legal issues were organized in the medieval world. There are more in-depth history books with greater detail about the period, but this compliments them nicely with elegant 4e mechanics.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Life and Laws
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Medieval Bestiary: Monstrous Guide
by Sandra B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2011 03:09:14
The writeup of monster reactions based on Wisdom, Intelligence and Charisma was interesting reading. The 5 new monsters were well written; the rest of the material was somewhat scanty and mostly aimed at the Feudal Lords setting. Still, the low price makes it a worthwhile addition.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Bestiary: Monstrous Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Noble Houses: House of Mehrcia
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2011 05:50:26
Very interesting to demonstrate how distinctive a setting element, such as a titled house, can become, with rules support infusing the general feudal ideal with their elemental, wilderness and wolf affinities.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Noble Houses: House of Mehrcia
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Medieval Bestiary: Anthropophagi
by Rafh T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2011 23:33:59
Quite delightful to find one of the few gaming supplements that taken on one of the most-neglected of legendary monsters, the Anthropophagus, aka the Blemmye. Good, interesting treatment- I'd never thought of linking them with undead, but the ghoul connection does make sense. Quite the good product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Bestiary: Anthropophagi
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

APG Paper Tiles Vol. II: Tourney ($1.00)
by Shawn K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2011 19:57:22
This is an excellent tile set. The colors are bright and crisp. There are 6 different colored pavilions so a good variety there. I was very satisfied with this product.
Possible additions to make even better would be weapons racks and a quintain. But that is a minor issue.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
APG Paper Tiles Vol. II: Tourney ($1.00)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Character Theme: Crusader (3.5)
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2011 22:36:47
This product line went out of print a while ago, but the fine folks at Alea Publishing Group have been kind enough to reintroduce them. (Thanks for that, by the way!)

Anyway, the character theme (formerly subclass) is a fascinating extra piece of character development based off of multiclassing XP penalties. In this case, it gives some paladin-like abilities to a faithful character to use to represent their religion in battle. It's a neat idea, and it's executed well. In fact, as Alea finished re-releasing the line, I'm planning to base a PC group around the use of subclasses.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Theme: Crusader (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Studio Companion: Mysterious Places
by Fraser R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2011 15:36:46
I was looking through RPG Now for some art to use on a cover, and this collection has both some very excellent pictures and has a very reasonable price compared to most other similar products. I've used one picture on a product so far, and would definitely use others should the opportunity arise. The pictures might not be particularly sharp, but look very much like painted images. Most are atmospheric rather than detailed, which--for my purposes--works perfectly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Studio Companion: Mysterious Places
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 135 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG