Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Home » DRAKAT Games » Reviews
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Complete Sci-fi SNAFU List
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/20/2013 09:24:34
If you run science-fiction games (indeed any game that has technology more advanced that most of the characters can understand in more than the most basic 'user' terms... e.g. when you press 'save' do you have any idea of what's happening on your hard drive?) or even play a techie character in one, this is both good fun to read and possibly of considerable use. Wherever technology is used, it will be abused and even if it is cosseted and well looked afer, it goes wrong... generally at the most inopportune moment.

Using the 12 tables herein, spanners can be thrown into works in a plausible-sounding manner. Some of the problems and their descriptions even make sense but they all sound realistic. Each table (for a different kind of malfunction) has ten options - you can roll dice for either or both table and problem, or just pick one that sounds good to you... and bad for the characters!

There's a wonderful range of problems for systems from weapons to power sources and life support... and of course IT. I'm sure I've heard some of those in real life!

Decidely fun set of glitches to inflict on your players (a GLITCH being a 'good little idea to confuse Houston' according to early astronauts), so get ready for Situation Normal, All Fouled Up. (That was what 'F' stands for, wasn't it?)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Complete Sci-fi SNAFU List
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eldritch Flora
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2013 03:21:08
Another nicely done little monograph revolving around the fictitious Dark Isle off the coast of England. In addition to providing you with some very useful little plants, this is a truly effective way for DRAKAT games to build up the background of their scenario setting. One of the nice things is that they provide you with an alternative to each of the deadly plants that makes them merely annoying, or even allows you to simply treat the whole thing as a ridiculous local legend, while still providing you with some excellent descriptions of out-of-the-ordinary plants with which you can spice up your normal scenario descriptions. I enjoyed this one as much as I have all the others. And the price is certainly right as well.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eldritch Flora
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Instant NPC Personality Generator
by andrew b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2013 19:40:09
This was everything I could have wanted it to be... especially for the price.

This document is based on the Myers Briggs system of personality classification. It goes a lot further, though, in its stated purpose of instantly giving you a way to play any NPC. In only a dozen pages... no frivolous prose on the theory of "RPG characters" no pictures except the cover. Hey, in the middle of a game, would you want all that stuff in the way of you and a good personality to pop on an NPC.

Let's talk about how they did it. They use a very basic spread of different personality combinations based on a very trusted psychological tool used pervasively. I took it in a medical careers prep college course. It is all organized with simple descriptive phrases, a simple intelligence modifier, and a negative trait associated with each. It even easily adjusts for nonhuman races using Vulcans specificly as an example. This template can be shaped to reflect the races of any fantasy or science fiction. I have never seen a more useful, inexpensive, and slender tool to place in any game master's tool belt.

Lets talk RPG craft. Even experienced game masters will notice they start developing only a handful of 'archetypes' on their own. Unless you are a bit schizo, you always have your own voice in your head. Change it up as much as you can, you will notice over your own gaming career... your name isn't legion. We all have to accept our limitations. This one product will make you a personality Plastic Man. For those serious about the art of RPGs, that is a wonderful thing.

Give this product a chance. It doesn't even cost a full dollar. If you use it in one game and flesh out eight NPCs with it then you have got your money's worth at about 10 cents per NPC.

Happy gaming.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Instant NPC Personality Generator
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkisle Stock Art #2: Tree-Cloaked Mysteries
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/25/2013 07:26:58
Grabbed this one on a whim. It was only 75 cents and had 5 hi-res images.

The images are photos that have been pixilated to appear like paintings. Great for some background shot or even a visual aid in any sort of game.
They are royalty free, so that is also a bonus.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darkisle Stock Art #2: Tree-Cloaked Mysteries
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
On a Wing and a Wave
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2012 15:42:23
Another nice little supplement from Drakat, primarily intended to support Call of Cthulhu campaigns set in the British Isles in the 1920's. This particular one discusses an actual flying boat that was in use briefly in the 20's, and while only three seem to have been manufactured, there's no reason why you couldn't assume a few more were built during the period. The resource is primarily intended to fit into a campaign that apparently includes a sizable (mythical) island between the Isle of Man and the coast of England, and to that end details of ticket pricing and dockage are included for that particular route, however enough information is included so that you could create a similar small flying boat airline in any reasonable island grouping (it probably wouldn't do you much good in the Marianas, say, but on the other hand, the Japanese authorities might have something to say about that anyway!). Since the flying boat was real, it should be possible to look up the details on the engine as well (wikipedia?) and that too might provide some good ideas for the Keeper to use regarding engine failures or other issues.

There are excellent pictures and detailed drawings, including the "livery" of two separate airlines, along with a blank line drawing you can use to create your own livery for your airline if you'd like to. An nice addition is an advertisement poster for each of the two airlines they created -- something you can have your players stumble across when they desperately need to fly out to some obscure island (or, perhaps, back from one).

As usual, the quality of the .pdf file was excellent, and the price was again only 75 cents. I'm hoping for many more of these nicely done little supplements from Drakat -- they are excellent, affordable, and have plenty of information and utility packed into a few short pages. Normally I would have given this a five, but since it does tend to be pretty specific to the British Isles, it requires a bit more work from the Keeper to transpose into a different area. Still it was an excellent job!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
On a Wing and a Wave
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Curious Calibres
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2012 15:20:38
I picked this nice little supplement up for 75 cents, and it was worth at least twice that much! It's a very nice little supplement that describes six variant pistols, different enough to be intriguing, and common enough to be relatively likely to pop up in your 1920's Call of Cthulhu campaign (or even later, as collectors' items). One could even appear in your 1890's campaign -- since it was issued to Confederate cavalry during the Civil War. The supplement includes Call of Cthulhu suggested stats for the weapons in a tabular format as well. All in all, this was well done and very useful; especially if you're setting your campaign in England in the 20's. Furthermore, the authors provide enough of a description (along with a "baseline" firearm you can use to categorize these weapons in comparison with) to enable users of any other RPG system to use them as well. For 75 cents, how can you go wrong? The quality of the document, both text and illustrations is excellent. the only thing that would have improved it is to include a couple of shots of the weapons from different angles (especially the Protector Palm Pistol) to help the Keeper and Investigators better visualize them. I hope to see more of these from Drakat. This one was an excellent start.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curious Calibres
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Instant NPC Personality Generator
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/11/2012 10:03:16
I really enjoy tools that make my life easier as a GM, and I think this is a great tool. It's apparently based on a real life science, psychometrics, something that I know nothing about. But, it dumbs it down enough that I get a general idea of what it is and how it's used to classify different personality types. One of the things that I'm really excited to experiment with from this generator, is the Communication Style. I think it's a great tidbit to help add depth to your NPCs and to make them each a little more unique. This document is short and easy to read.

The text was easy to read, but there were a few errors which jumped out at me. It also has enough complication to it that, if you want to jump in and use ALL of the options to generate NPCs, that I would have a tough time getting it all to work. But, this looks like a great product with some basic information to start with and has some more complicated parts to slowly add in once you've got them more committed to memory.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Instant NPC Personality Generator
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Oops yes, looks like the proofing could have been a bit better! All put right now. Actually it was put right a while ago but I've only just worked out how to reply to reviews!
On a Wing and a Wave
by Miguel d. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2011 09:52:24
Just as it promises, an introduction to a small airplane with a few nice images

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
On a Wing and a Wave
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG