Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Home » AGEMA » Reviews
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Campaign maps for the Crusades
by justin c. a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2014 03:43:48
love it! Useful for any campaign - from Intrigue, mass combat, or combat campaign

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign maps for the Crusades
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
18th century GAME OF WAR wargame rules
by RODNEY F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2013 06:21:03
Excellent set of rules that really captures the flavour of 18th century warfare, highly recomended if you enjoy old school gaming. I too have a range of Prince August moulds which I mould and paint up in my spare time and with the number of figures required to play, it just makes such a viable option. Some percentage driven army lists would have been a nice touch to go with the points system but are not a stumbling block. Great fun set with clever simple mechanics which brings out realistic results.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
18th century GAME OF WAR wargame rules
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
ULTIMA RATIO REGUM 2nd edition grand tactical wargame rules (1689-1763)
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2013 10:46:27
ULTIMA RATIO REGUM - grand tactical rules wargame rules for 1869 – 1763
These are rules that use a base of figures and there are no individual figures or casualties. A base of infantry represents a battalion of about 700 men whilst a base of cavalry a squadron of 150. Base sizes are given for the various scales of figures from 2mm to 28/30mm but since it is the BASE that counts rather than the figures mounted on it these can be ignored and your own previously based figures used. I have several armies for this period based up for a different set of rules yet they work just as effectively as those given.
All units have different morale, training and weapons and the tactical differences in use by opponents at the beginning of the period are recognised – so that some infantry will fire by ranks, other by platoon, and cavalry will either charge home to take the enemy with cold steel or fire at them before going in at the trot. Some will fire at the halt and wait to receive enemy cavalry.
Combat is worked out in what seems a complicated structure but is easier once tried on the table with figures than it appears by reading. Rather than play a game I put 2 opposing units out and fight the combat. When I fully understand the mechanisms I add more figures – cavalry or guns. The combat and morale works.
There are some excellent ideas such as moving in March Columns which are not placed on the table until spotted by the enemy, and then they need to deploy. There are couriers to take messages to Brigadiers and their Columns. Well thought out and working well.
The rules include points for Unit types so armies can be built and the rules cover pikes and lances as well as lines of trained infantry.
All in all, a good set of rules with some interesting ideas and mechanics. Well worth a try.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ULTIMA RATIO REGUM 2nd edition grand tactical wargame rules (1689-1763)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
18th century GAME OF WAR wargame rules
by Iain M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2013 06:52:34
I've had some Prince August moulds stuck in a box under a table in my study for ages. They're the Holger Erikson C18th ones and once in a while I've cast a few up and painted them in a toy soldier style. I had considered some 'old school' wargaming BUT that usually involved loads of figures and some dense rules trying to recreate esoteric issues like the morale effect an Austrian Szeckler hussar losing his Czackelhaube!

These rules are ideal for the sort of wargaming I had in mind ie 'old stle' C18th lite, the chance to create middle European states with made up names and with the option to add more chrome. Low physical troop numbers, formation modelling and it trundles along at a fair old pace- smiles all round!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
18th century GAME OF WAR wargame rules
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armies of the Spanish Civil War Armies
by Jean C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2012 14:13:47
Kind of skimpy, very little art or maps or anything like that, and they got some really basic facts wrong. CNT wasn't a communist designation! it was the largest anarchist trade union. The Socialist union was the UGT, which was also a slogan used alot on vehicles. They covered armored vehicles but forgot about camiones blindados (“tiznaos”), the armored trucks which were used both as tanks and APC's. They also left out the dynamiteros from the various troop types, and I didn't see much if anything about German or Italian volunteers. Also they had political militias in the Basque countries, not just Basque nationalists. There were also a lot more elite columns other than the two they mentioned.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Armies of the Spanish Civil War Armies
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Hi Jean, we'd argue that in detail these army lists are far from skimpy, there are lists for 20 Nationalist and 25 Republican armies here! - but yes there aren't any illustrations, maps or artwork. Good point about CNT, and this has now been corrected (although this was only a one word error on a single two-word line, although having said that we agree it was a sloppy mistake!). Anyway, we've updated Armies of the Spanish Civil War with a second edition with a section covering 'tiznoas' and miners capable of employing explosives ('dynamiteros') which will at least explain why we didn't pay much attention to the tiznaos originally (basically they would break down if you turned the engine on, a real problem for a military vehicle!). Finally, yes we could have covered more than two elite columns and given more Basque country army lists, but hey there are 45 army list here which we think is a heck of a lot really. If any buyer has ideas to improve the lists in the future please do get in touch with AGEMA - thanks are due to Jean for spotting the CNT error. Previous purchasers of the lists here can get the 2nd edition update for free by just downloading the title again. The update isn't a major one, so we didn't feel justified in issuing it as a new product.
Sacre Bleu! Skirmish wargame rules for the Age of Pirates, the 17th-18th centuries, and the Napoleonic Wars!
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2012 16:09:54
This is a simple set of rules that is only a few pages long and can be learned quickly. Still, it is very dynamic, even a bit chaotic -- which from the author's notes seems to be the intention.

Imagine a skirmish between pirates: you wouldn't expect an organized battle but everyone shooting and fighting any way they can. This is reflected by randomly determined combat phases that give rise to action that is very open to narration and interpretation. Clearly it's not something for competitive play but for friendly games with some beer (or maybe rum!) The book also includes four scenarios with different objectives that might inspire players in creating their own.

The simplicity and the elements of uncertainty make this game suitable for solo play. I've done this and the results were quick, fun battles with very little tweaking of the rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sacre Bleu! Skirmish wargame rules for the Age of Pirates, the 17th-18th centuries, and the Napoleonic Wars!
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WW1 Challenge & Reply! first world war naval wargame rules and British/German fleet lists
by Geoff C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2012 08:56:33
Appears to be produced on an ancient typewriter - could not be bothered to bring the rules up to date by producing in a wordprocessed format. Very disappointing.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
WW1 Challenge & Reply! first world war naval wargame rules and British/German fleet lists
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
We've withdrawn the product from sale and are working on a new edition, which will be formatted to modern standards. We would however ask those who have these rules already to try them out - while Geoff is right that the type quality isn't perfect the text is eminently readable and the rules already boast graphics as illustrations, besides the game is a very good one which has stood the test of time and has one accolades in the past! Looking to the future, alongside the 2nd edition we're also going to bring out a supplement covering a hypothetical WW1 Pacific War clash between Japan and the USA, including colour maps, and when it launches the Adriatic supplement will also be made available again with any changes required on account of the new edition.
1701 AD The Glory of Kings 18th century wargames campaign newspapers
by Stefano B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2012 14:04:48
A useful document to recreate historical situation or little campaigns.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1701 AD The Glory of Kings 18th century wargames campaign newspapers
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armies of the Spanish Civil War Armies
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2012 14:55:56
This is an extremely thorough resource for a regional year-by-year list of forces (inlcuding armor) on both sides of the Spanish Civil War. Indispensible for this somewhat neglected action, and usable for any rules system. Can't beat the price, either. A big thank you to the compiler of this book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armies of the Spanish Civil War Armies
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Glory of Kings ATLAS for the 18th century
by Alexander O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/21/2011 21:35:15
I jumped into this not really being into Glory of Kings, but because of the utility of the source material -- a whole bunch of maps of the world for the 18th Century! As source material goes, maps are pretty high up there, and historical maps are hard to come by in one fell swoop.

My initial exuberance dimmed somewhat after going through the product, however, when I saw that not all the maps were done in the same style and at the same resolution. The maps of Germany and India have the most detail, but some of the other maps seem to be scanned in from other sources (with typewritten fonts?). The fact that they're scanned in isn't necessarily a bad thing, if it were a historical map -- but unfortunately it's not indicated. Furthermore, hyperlinks from the table of contents would have been appreciated as not all the maps are clearly labeled.

Still this gets a better than mediocre rating from me because of the scope and rarity of the material -- just look at the maps you get:

Germany
British Isles
France
Spain & Portugal
Italy
The Baltic
Norway
Hungary & Poland
North Russia
Ukraine & Anatolia
Rumelia & The Morea
Levant - East
Levant - West
The West Indies
South America
Africa
Oman
Persia
India
Siam, Burma, etc.
Japan
Chinese Empire
World - East
World - West

Perhaps some of my concerns will be addressed in future versions of this product, enough to push it up to the 5 star rating it deserves.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Glory of Kings ATLAS for the 18th century
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
18th century GAME OF WAR wargame rules
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 13:47:11
The game is as advertised, a wargame in the old school style. I am partial to such games as these because they are simple and easy to play without getting bogged down in the minutia of other "modern: wargames rules. The writing is easy to read and the rules are well explained.

One minor gripe deals with the deployment of infantry in the various firing systems. The rules suggest that platoon firing infantry should normally be deployed in a long single line while the rank firing troops should be deployed in a double line. While platoon firing infantry were deployed in shallower lines, it was not to the order of 2-1! The firing tables already take into account that rank firing was less efficient than platoon firing so I think it would be better to have them deploy the same with the front rank firing.

I would have giving this game 5 stars if there were a few army lists and maybe even a scenario. So it gets 4 but in my opinion it is well worth the money. Anyone who is interested in getting a quick play set of rules for 18th century warfare in the "old style" should give these a try.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
18th century GAME OF WAR wargame rules
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG