Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Home » Goodman Games » Reviews
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dungeon Crawl Classics #0: Legends are Made, not Born
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2016 18:54:33

This is the adventure that got me hooked on Goodman Games. I have game mastered this adventure five times and each one has been memorable and most led to a long term campaign - including one of which was the most epic that I ever ran and based on elements introduced in this adventure. For fans of Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG, I consider this the original funnel.


Characters start out at 0-level and the very weakness of the PCs causes the players to stretch their imagination to keep the characters alive. The module serves as a great origine story and has plenty of hooks for future adventures.


Highly recomended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #0: Legends are Made, not Born
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
by Julio M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2016 12:35:11

Indeed the most astonishing game in the market.


Richly illustrated, with a system easy enough to introduce to new players, and complex enough to keep veterans playing. With such tasteful text, this is the most memorable game in my collection.


A game that teaches all the players the value of life and death through a zero level funnel, and teaches ththat magic is no toy as you will see with spellburn, mercurial magic and corruption, two amazing mechanics in game ever created.


Completely worth buying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #28: Into the Wilds
by Calvin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2015 13:11:23

I bought this upon the suggestion that I read more adventures(Specifically those written by Harley Stroh) in order to be a better DM. I DMed as a kid in high school and got back into the hobby after a good 25-30 year lapse. It reads very will and I could see it being easily modified to the 5e ruleset.

What impressed me is that the authors have set it up to give the DM insight into what is up next- no you couldn't download it and begin to play it with out reading it through at least once- I honestly don't believe that you can do that with any module that you pre buy and are trying to honestly run the module as the author intends. The descriptions give instances and the encounter reactions and why this reaction- this level of detail isn't something I remember from older modules but is common in the modern ones published by WotC(my only experience). The motives for the NPC's are very well outlined and reasons are also given. The very cool thing is that the text also gives possible interaction that NPC may have with players. This is a very worthwhile purchase!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #28: Into the Wilds
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics 2015 Halloween Module: They Served Brandolyn Red
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2015 12:34:20

Ring Side Report- RPG Review of The Served Brandolyn Red


Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!


Product-They Served Brandolyn Red
System- DCC
Producer- Goodman Games
Price- $7 here http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/159-
410/Dungeon-Crawl-Classics-2015-Halloween-Module-They-Served-
-Brandolyn-Red&affiliate_id=658618

TL; DR- An awesome starter adventure! 95%


Basics-It's a good day for a white wedding! Until the groom's head is chopped off and the bride is poisoned. Then, players and the guests of the wedding have to find out all the twists and turns in this adventure and recover the groom's head to properly bury the man. Why did this happen? Only you can find out!


Mechanics or Crunch-Ah, the DCC RPG funnel! Hit the players hard and see what falls down. It’s a time honored tradition. This adventure has all the great pieces of one, and the mechanics match enough to challenge first and zero level players as well as bringing enough weird to the party. 5/5


Theme or Fluff-This adventure is one that you as a GM have to bring to life. There is a lot going on here, and it kind of goes in two directions. Only one direction gets the PC’s paid, so they won’t care about family struggles as longs gold happens. If you can bring that part to life, it's a fun side of the adventure. But, most parties and games won’t even care about some below the surface details that the adventure has due to the second part being a bit off base. It’s fun, but a bit too unwieldy with the second story not bringing as much to the party as the first. 4.25/5


Execution- This is a DCC RPG book put out by Goodman Games themselves, so it’s going to be good! The art is great, the pictures are phenomenal, and the layout is simple enough to help every GM run a fun adventure. The book even has detailed family trees that you can use to enhance the substory that I complained about in the theme section. Even the hex crawl simple map is a great addition to the game! This simple adventure has the tools and talent needed to really help you make a great time for the players. Also, it’s out in time for Halloween, so get this now! 5/5


Summary-I love this one so much it might become my new favorite funnel. My players get a place to explore. I get some story to build off with a subplot that is fun, if a bit of a strange addition. The mechanics of the adventure are built well enough that it’s got enough challenge to keep things interesting, but not a killer curve to destroy a party. From the art to the layout, this is a phenomenal adventure and an excellent introduction to DCCRPG, and if a group was looking for a place to start, this is probably the best adventure to throw your friends and yourself as the GM into. 95%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics 2015 Halloween Module: They Served Brandolyn Red
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #76: Colossus, Arise!
by Paul W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2015 15:14:28

This adventure is a romp. I love the look on my players' faces when each new monster is another terrifying thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #76: Colossus, Arise!
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2015 12:09:41

I haven't had a chance to play this yet, but it's a fascinating example of how the OSR movement has brought new life to the hobby. I love the ideas, though I'm not entirely thrilled by the prices of the new dice it needs.


Looking forward to trying it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2015 16:37:26

This is really nice. Excellently produced. Nice artwork. Good adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

The Dungeon Alphabet
by chris b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 00:16:10

The Dungeon Alphabet was exactly as advertised and just what I was looking for. There is an "old school" feel about it which could be a bad thing for newer players but for older ones like myself it was great. The artwork also
had that retro feel to it which was funny and reminiscent of early Dungeons and Dragons. Only minor complaint was there is a newer version with more tables but it's not available for download. Thanks to the creators of this whimsical product, I'm quite sure I'll use it a lot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon Alphabet
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Level Up #1
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2015 11:51:31

These are pretty good if you need extra information, nicely presented. Interesting new beasties.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Level Up #1
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
by Mike H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2015 10:02:33

A solid level 1 adventure. Very easy to plug into almost any campaign setting, and a works as a perfect jumping off point for a group of newly banded adventurers! The ending is very sudden, but I think by the time a experience GM gets to that point they'll have flesh out some additional bits to add to it.


P.S
Be aware of the giant mosquitoes!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

DCC Lankhmar: Through Ningauble's Cave
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 13:33:35

Its a great starter resource, but they need to hurry up and produce more follow up products to fully flesh out the Lankhmar world and system modifications to the DCC system. It's a good book if you are already familiar with Lankhmar and you want your players to stop by for a visit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DCC Lankhmar: Through Ningauble's Cave
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

DCC RPG Free RPG Day Adventure Starter
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 13:28:21

Save your money and just buy the rulebook. its the adventure that comes with the rulebook and the tell you to go download the beta rules at the goodman games website. which I couldn't find the link to.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DCC RPG Free RPG Day Adventure Starter
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Hero's Handbook: Eladrin
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2015 12:57:33

Excellent, this is really well thought out and presented. I would highly recommend it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero's Handbook: Eladrin
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #84: Peril on the Purple Planet
by Gavin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2015 05:09:37

This boxed set is the answer to many of my questions:


What if Arrakis was populated with beastmen cross-bred from Idiocracy and The Hills Have Eyes?


What if you based their culture/religion on various bibles and sports fanblogs run through multiple Google Translates which were then passed down orally for generations?


What if you fed your PC's mushrooms and gave them laser swords and thermal detonators without instruction manuals?


For the PC's, there are caverns to delve, pits to fall in, giant worms to tame, cities to burn, warbands to lead, rockets to crash, temples to destroy, and most importantly there are buttons to push or switches and levers to toggle.


It's a wonderful adventure accompanied by an incredible sandbox to keep your PC's entertained/trapped in a Mad Max Barsoom for as long as you want.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #84: Peril on the Purple Planet
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
by Bill H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2015 09:54:16

With Wizards of the Coast only selling us campaigns at this time, we are left with companies like Goodman Games for modules and that is just fine because they have done an excellent job.


Glitterdoom has it all, an engaging backstory, a useful hook, new monsters, traps and magic items and more. This module could be run from hook to end boss in a long game night or better over two sessions.


The bulk of a module such as this are the area descriptions. They are well labeled and described. The italicized for-the-players section is right-sized and descriptive. The for-the-DM section is also right-sized and contains everything you need to know to run this module.


Black and white drawings are placed throughout the book to give you a good amount of flavor of this dungeon crawl and its denizens. A full page map of the dungeon is at the end.


I had bought this one just to read but already digested it for running and have pitched my players the hook. We are going to the Knuckle on our next game night.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 439 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG