Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Home » Goodman Games » Reviews
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DCC Lankhmar: Through Ningauble's Cave
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 13:33:35
Its a great starter resource, but they need to hurry up and produce more follow up products to fully flesh out the Lankhmar world and system modifications to the DCC system. It's a good book if you are already familiar with Lankhmar and you want your players to stop by for a visit.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DCC Lankhmar: Through Ningauble's Cave
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

DCC RPG Free RPG Day Adventure Starter
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 13:28:21
Save your money and just buy the rulebook. its the adventure that comes with the rulebook and the tell you to go download the beta rules at the goodman games website. which I couldn't find the link to.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DCC RPG Free RPG Day Adventure Starter
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Hero's Handbook: Eladrin
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2015 12:57:33
Excellent, this is really well thought out and presented. I would highly recommend it

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero's Handbook: Eladrin
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #84: Peril on the Purple Planet
by Gavin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2015 05:09:37
This boxed set is the answer to many of my questions:

What if Arrakis was populated with beastmen cross-bred from Idiocracy and The Hills Have Eyes?

What if you based their culture/religion on various bibles and sports fanblogs run through multiple Google Translates which were then passed down orally for generations?

What if you fed your PC's mushrooms and gave them laser swords and thermal detonators without instruction manuals?

For the PC's, there are caverns to delve, pits to fall in, giant worms to tame, cities to burn, warbands to lead, rockets to crash, temples to destroy, and most importantly there are buttons to push or switches and levers to toggle.

It's a wonderful adventure accompanied by an incredible sandbox to keep your PC's entertained/trapped in a Mad Max Barsoom for as long as you want.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #84: Peril on the Purple Planet
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
by Bill H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2015 09:54:16
With Wizards of the Coast only selling us campaigns at this time, we are left with companies like Goodman Games for modules and that is just fine because they have done an excellent job.

Glitterdoom has it all, an engaging backstory, a useful hook, new monsters, traps and magic items and more. This module could be run from hook to end boss in a long game night or better over two sessions.

The bulk of a module such as this are the area descriptions. They are well labeled and described. The italicized for-the-players section is right-sized and descriptive. The for-the-DM section is also right-sized and contains everything you need to know to run this module.

Black and white drawings are placed throughout the book to give you a good amount of flavor of this dungeon crawl and its denizens. A full page map of the dungeon is at the end.

I had bought this one just to read but already digested it for running and have pitched my players the hook. We are going to the Knuckle on our next game night.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Grimtooth's Ultimate Traps Collection
by Timothy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2015 13:12:12
I freaking love it. It's a great tool for an aspiring or long term gm who want to spice up their game. Due to the sheer volume of traps and cursed items, I think the hardest part will be find enough games to throw them all in. I can wait to try them all out on my u superintendent vict.....I mean players *grin*

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimtooth's Ultimate Traps Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics: Saga of the Witch Queen
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/02/2015 11:25:49
A longer review is posted here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/

This is a meaty module. 84 pages, covers, maps and OGL still leave a lot of pages for material.
First off, if you are not familiar with Dungeon Crawl Classics modules they are meant to emulate a certain feel of early 80s play. They went on to create the game Dungeon Crawl Classics, but the adventures are still largely OSR compatible. Actually I didn't see a single thing in this adventure screamed is should be used for one system or the other.
This adventure is actually 3 adventures in one. Legacy of the Savage Kings, The Lost Passage of the Drow, and War of the Witch Queen. Each one is a different part of the Witch Queen's plan.

Reading through this adventure is one part excitement for the new and one part excitement for the nostalgia. For the new, I wanted to learn more about Kyleth (the eponymous Witch Queen) and the tome Ars Maleficus. The nostalgia comes from many little easter eggs through out the pages that call back to adventures of the TSR-days. I am convinced the Mad Hermit here is the same as the one in the Keep on the Borderland for example. There are also hints of influences from Vault of the Drow, Ravenloft, and even the rest of the GDQ series. In fact the second adventure, "The Lost Passage of the Drow" could be slotted into the D series and no one would be the wiser. Replace Baba Yazoth with the proper Baba Yaga and have one of the many adventures she features in as a side trek.

There are a number of named characters that would work well as witches, Maeve, Baba Yazoth and of course Kyleth herself. While using the title of "Witch Queen" Kyleth is only an 8th level Magic-user. Make her a 9th or 10th level witch and then you have something really scary.

Does it work with The Witch? Yes, absolutely. There are number of great items and story points in this adventure for any witch character. In fact I would say that any good witch would want to see Kyleth taken out on general principle. Plus there are a number of encounters and NPCs that would benefit from the rules in the Witch. Night Hags get more spell casting powers for example and the medusa can also have some levels of witch.

Of course there is the one issue of Kyleth being one of The Thirteen. The Thirteen most evil wizards, witches and necromancers in the world. She was the newest member, who are the other 12 and what are their plans? Anyone up for an adventure against the Legion of Doom? I might have to come back to this idea. I can see witches, vivamancers, blood mages, evil wizards, and necromancers part of this evil cabal. Each providing something different.
Seriously, there is so much fun stuff here I can't wait to try it out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics: Saga of the Witch Queen
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2015 13:45:21
Probably my favourite classic Old School RPG, DCC delivers a great feel for fantastic adventures. You can easily adapt it to any (fantasy) setting you like but for me it works best in a low magic sword & sorcery setting. Magic is powerful and rather rare, at the same time weird and sometimes hard to control - but it's easy to change whatever aspect doesn't suite your style of play.

Still, I think it works great "as is" to capture the feel of classic RPG's (I started with D&D 1e), with a brutal beginning for 0-level characters who are forced through the "funnel" with most of them probably dying - but those who survive already have a story to tell and we felt that it is a lot due to this character funnel that we identified with our characters, even though they were not always the ones we originally wanted to survive. But despite some mediocre or bad stats, despite stupid names (we rolled them all) and despite or maybe because they started out as peasants and swine herders with a stick and the instinct to run rather than fight, our characters felt more real than in many other games.

I prefer the attributes over the "classic" D20 ones with Wisdom and Charisma merged into Personality, and Luck being added. I like the special abilities of each class, making them stand out without being overly complicated (unless you're a wizard, some of those rules still seem rather complicated to me, but I'm the dwarf, so what do I know?).

Now the cons: the special dice as they're expensive (especially if imported and you have to pay for shipping too) and rare. Of course you can substitute them with regular dice but it doesn't feel the same (for me).
A minor drawback in my opinion is the lack of a table chapter containing the most important tables in compact form. Having to flip through the book every time to check for fumbles and critical hits isn't that great. Then again it's easy to compile a cheat sheet or table booklet if you have the PDF or a scanner. Still, I'd have liked to find this prepared for quicker and easier play.

Despite these small drawbacks I can only recommend this if you are a fan of old school RPG's, as the pros clearly outweigh the cons.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

DCC RPG Free RPG Day Adventure Starter
by Andrew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2015 12:24:49
Spend the extra for the full book, not worth it for such a small chunk. The full book and the system are a lot of fun though.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DCC RPG Free RPG Day Adventure Starter
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:07:33
It was enjoyable. I really liked the fact that it felt like old school AD&D. The only real problem I had were the Elves being allergic to iron because it doesn't make sense. You can't carve out a civilization if you're allergic to the tools required.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2015 21:09:15
All in all this was a good piece. I didn't cross check the publisher date with the official release of 5e, but I did notice one rule discrepancy. The spells for the final NPC were set up like previous versions would have done.

Other than that, I would have liked to see a better accounting of time. Where Okkar's timeline fits in with the fall of the Knuckle and Steelhand Hall, exactly how many years has passed, etc. Because of that deficit, it makes it difficult to rationalize some things like how there are working crossbows still in one guardroom, how long ago all the ore was gone, and thereby what have the greed grubs been living on (unless they are actually undead), etc.

My players enjoyed the module, and picked up on the hook to continue helping Okkar by traveling to Steelhand Hall.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #1: Glitterdoom
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

GM Gems
by Uzi W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2015 03:03:50
as it says on the cover "GM gems" is what this book has, it will not solve all your problems as a GM, but it WILL help you create more detailed and interesting game. the empty rooms worth describing part alone has helped me create more interesting, real, and detailed "dungeons" as well as ideas for what to do with these rooms if they aren't empty, so if you are looking for a solid book that will help in areas you don't even realize you need help in, like making campsites more extraordinary, go get this

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM Gems
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2015 10:14:03
The story is cool. What I really like a lot is the final set of combats. It's a neat fight where you climb up a tree and fight on multiple levels. It's tough to make combats dynamic at low levels but I feel like this does a good job.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #80: Intrigue at the Court of Chaos
by Jeff S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2015 12:58:24
A wonderfully entropic quest, reminding the players that DCC is not a place where every encounter is "balanced", nor is every challenge solved by the sword. I particularly enjoyed the RP opps for intra-party conflct.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #80: Intrigue at the Court of Chaos
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #83: The Chained Coffin
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/21/2014 08:12:06
Originally written at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/07/30/tabletop-review-dungeon-
-crawl-classics-83-the-chained-coffin/

After seeing several third party publishers like Brave Halfling run successful crowdfunding campaigns for the Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG system, Goodman Games finally decided to run one of their own. This campaign originally starter out to fund a regular adventure with a workable prop and limited edition cover. It grew to be an entire boxed set including an almanac and an extra adventure. Now, the boxed set isn’t ready yet and hasn’t been released to backers, so we’ll have to wait a few weeks until mine arrives and I can do a feature on it. Instead, today we’ll be looking at the version of The Chained Coffin that you’ll be able to download in PDF format from sites like DriveThruRPG.com or purchase in dead tree format your local brick and mortar gaming store. Don’t think you’re getting the short end of the stick with this version though as it includes several upgrades made possible by the 729 Kickstarter backers who took part, including some random encounter tables, seven mid-boss variants and more. So you are getting a bigger adventure than you normally would have – all thanks to crowdfunding. Hopefully you took part!

The Chained Coffin actually contains two full adventures. We will take a look at each one separately as they are very different. First is the adventure which bears the same name as the collection, The Chained Coffin. This adventure is designed for six LEVEL FIVE characters. Yes, that’s right. That’s pretty high for a published DCC adventure, so expect The Chained Coffin to challenge even the mightiest one time cheesemaker! I should point out magic and especially magic weapons are a must in this adventure, as many opponents have damage reduction or outright immunity to non-magical attacks. Going in without magic will get a character killed- even moreso than normal in a DCC adventure!

You would think from the title that a chained coffin would be central to the plot and it is in fact so. What you may not be expecting is that the inhabitant of the coffin is on the side of law and order. Usually coffins are the purview of chaotic, often undead, creatures. In the case of The Chained Coffin, an ancient and mighty priest of a lawful god has been locked up tight inside thanks to the machinations of an agent of chaos who seeks to become a demigod of sorts. The priest is now trapped in a permanent state of undeath within the coffin. The priest and his god make the coffin known to the PCs in an attempt to stop the servant of chaos who has reared its head once more in another attempt to amass vast quantities of power. The adventure will take through several dungeon crawls, although each of them are rather short. This is fine as you get several different locations instead of one long labyrinth and I’ll take the different scenery over a literal dungeon crawl any day.

Much of the adventure takes place in the Shudder Mountains, which will be give more depth in the boxed set. Here though you still get a pretty nice snapshot of this Ozarkian/Appalachian like area and its inhabitants. Besides random encounters with giants and bears, the regular inhabitants of hollers/hollows like Bent Pines or Bad Lick can be either helpful or send you on wild goose chases that eats up your time. Because you have only X number of days before the servant of chaos reaches a location where they can reign destruction down upon the land, time is of the essence and not something you want to waste on feuding with giants or selling your soul to demons like Ol’ Blackcloak. There are magical fiddles to be dug up, fingernail based fetch quests to win, and ghosts haunted by other ghosts asking for your aid. There is an enormous amounts of ways the adventure can go, along with several potential mid-bosses to face, like the Sin-Eater or Bad Lick Beast.

All of this comes down to finding the Luhsaal Wheel, which is the MacGuffin for the adventure and where the adventure’s final confrontation takes place. To get to it, you must first pass the spinning dial puzzle which trigger the whole crowdfunding for this adventure in the first place. The spinning wheel is a puzzle where you try to align all three rings properly. Do so and you can enter. Get the puzzle wrong and take damage along with a possible fall into a chasm. Unfortunately, there is no way the PCs or their players can figure out the solution to the puzzle. It is literally blind luck. There aren’t any hints and there certainly isn’t any logic to solving the puzzle. This is guess and check at its worst. The piece states that die rolls are not allowed, which is fine, and that player knowledge bleeds into character knowledge with this one, which I’m never okay with. The only real way to solve the puzzle is if someone somehow knows what any of these runes mean and that is very unlikely to happen. This was a massive (and annoying) disappoint to me. I was hoping for an actual puzzle straight out of old school D&D or like you find in point and click adventure video games. To have all this build up around the puzzle and have it simply be little more than a anthropomorphic personification of trolling rather disgusted me. Honestly as good (but not great) as the adventure was up to this point, had I known that the puzzle wasn’t actually a puzzle, I wouldn’t have sprung for the eventual box set and it was this Vince Russo style swerve that has kept me from backing the current DCC Kickstarter, Peril on the Purple Planet because I do not want to be this disappointed again. This part was just terrible.

After you get pass the massive disappointment that is the spinning wheel puzzle, you get your boss fight and everything wraps up happily ever after – as long as your characters live through the adventure, that is. You might even see one of your characters being a temporary demigod, with some big stat boosts of course. That’s always fun.

So that’s The Chained Coffin. Aside from the terrible puzzle that isn’t a puzzle, the adventure is pretty decent. It’s not as good as some other recent first party DCC releases like Bride of the Black Manse, The One Who Watches From Below or Intrigue at the Court of Chaos (all of which would probably have been better choices for the extra content and boxed set bonuses), but it’s a decent adventure, you’re certainly as fun with, even if a lot of you with house rule changes to the spinning wheel puzzle so players can get some kind of hint or tips on the actual solution. At least the physical wheel Kickstarter backers will get won’t be a one trick pony as the back of the book includes five alternative uses for it. That’s something I guess.

The second (and much shorter) bonus adventure in this piece is “The Rat King’s River of Death,” and it is for a party of Level 1 characters, although the text does not designate what size the party should be. Whoops. The adventure is also a direct sequel to the very first Dungeon Crawl Classics adventure, Idylls of the Rat-King. That great to see a sequel to an old piece like that. Unfortunately, that adventure is for D&D 3.5 rather than the DCC system and it’s been out of print for some time, so the actual people who have played the adventure and/or will get the reference will be quite slim indeed.

In Idylls of the Rat-King the named antagonist is killed by the PCs, but this is not the end of his story. Reborn into a cloned body, the Rat King has now taken a position of power in a small farming fiefdom far from the site of his original defeat. He has begun to poison the local water supply, as well as the crops, with the intent to wipe out human life with some sort of demonic plague. Hey, he’s Skaven – their plans aren’t super well thought out you know…

Now it is up to a new breed of PCs to take down the Rat King and his nefarious scheme. The characters will have to deal with rancid, pestilence inducing water, magic plague rats, a hedge maze full of sentient angry mutant plant life and some rat demons. In the end, “The Rat King’s River of Death” is a fairly standard dungeon crawl where PCs get a small plot hook in order for them to traverse a generic location and do battle with the big bad of the week. Now while the plot if fairly paint by numbers, the creatures and locations really spice the standard formula up and make this piece a lot of fun. The adventure even has some dangling plot thread so you can keep the storyline going if you choose. All in all, a fun short pat little piece, which is all “The Rat King’s River of Death” needed to be.

So, for ten dollars, you get two good adventures, even if neither of them are as good as other DCC adventures released this year. The Chained Coffinis well worth the ten dollars you’ll have to spend to get it (Or seven if you get the PDF), but only time will tell if the Kickstarter boxed set will be worth thirty dollars. Keep checking back as once I have mine, I’ll do a full pictorial feature on what it all contains. Until then, DCC fans should certainly considering picking up The Chained Coffin. There have been better first party DCC releases in 2014, but both adventures contained within this piece are still fun in their own right.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #83: The Chained Coffin
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 429 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG