Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Home » Engine Publishing » Reviews
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Eureka: 501 Adventure Plots to Inspire Game Masters
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2016 15:56:37

I find this pretty useful. I'm not very good at coming up with plot ideas, but once I have an idea, I am good at fleshing it out. This book helps me with my weak point, so I can focus on what I am good at.

I'm not saying they're all amazing ideas, but for me, it's much easier to improve a starting point than a blank canvas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eureka: 501 Adventure Plots to Inspire Game Masters
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Masks: 1,000 Memorable NPCs for Any Roleplaying Game
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2016 21:59:09

Talk about value! Invaluable to giving character to a session. Inspiring in elevating the quality of my NPC and beyond!

The primary use for me is to inspire me to go a few steps deeper in introducing and portaying characters. Out-of-character descriptions have become more complete, without taking more game time. Snappy, fast-burst enrichment of who these people are, regardless of whether they are passer-bys or important features of the story.

A secondary use that was fun, was printing out some of the included NPCs for my players to play on-the-fly. I was running a campaign where each session included flashback scenes for one of my players - so the other players played NPCs-turned-PCs for the scene. Everybody at the table instantly knew the tone of the scene, and jumped wholeheartedly to make the flashback a story-to-remember!

This is definitely a resource I will return to over and over in years to come!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masks: 1,000 Memorable NPCs for Any Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Focal Point: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Running Extraordinary Sessions
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2016 13:24:30

I think this might be my new favorite of all the books from Engine publishing and the trio of writers. Unlike some other reviewers, I really enjoy Gemma and her game crew. They make mistakes so that we don't have to.

Please guys, make another Masks book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Focal Point: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Running Extraordinary Sessions
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
by Elizabeth A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2016 15:19:38

Solidly ok. I really enjoyed Chapter 7 on how to review your prep, and Chapter 10 on creating and using templates for your scenes. For the value of those two chapters, I felt it was probably worth the price and worth my time spent reading the whole thing.

Much of the rest read like painfully dry time-management self-help. Maybe that's something other GMs need, but I don't need to be reminded of how few hours in the day I really have or how to shift my other tasks around to make room for game prep. I definitely, definitely don't need special little names for each type of life's normal interruptions. I'm an adult and have been juggling various combinations of marriage/school/work/kid/hobbies for a while. If I wanted a self-help time-management book I'm not sure I'd come here for it. But maybe this would help someone who is just getting started with trying to strike a balance in life.

I strongly suspect this guide would be more helpful for someone running a campaign. At present and for the foreseeable future I run published one-shots or short modules. I want to be better prepared for those, and as a newish GM, I hoped that this guide would help me. But I don't really need to brainstorm, somebody else wrote the material for me.

I do appreciate that the PDF was well bookmarked, so that if I do find myself wanting a refresher on brainstorming, conceptualization, and documentation, I might come back to this guide. If I can talk my new group into committing to a campaign one day, I'll probably be more glad I read this.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Focal Point: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Running Extraordinary Sessions
by Dan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2016 18:25:58

The example group is just terrible. Much of the advice was obviously never really tried by the authors. it's just so bad.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Focal Point: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Running Extraordinary Sessions
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2015 06:16:05

This is project-management for Gamemasters - to me a very motivational and truly helpful little book! As a beginner GM this well structured text helped me get a good grasp and an overview on the different tasks involved in gamemastering. This in turn makes it easier to fit this hobby into my weekly schedule. Especially if you liked David Allen's GTD, you will also enjoy this book. And as I am sure I will read it again, I can only give this book the best rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Unframed: The Art of Improvisation for Game Masters
by Dorian Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2015 10:08:55

When you pay $10 for a ebook in mobi format there is an expectation that it will work on Kindle. You do not expect Amazon to kick it back saying there are errors in the document. This is unacceptable.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Unframed: The Art of Improvisation for Game Masters
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Publisher Reply:
I\'m sorry that youre having a technical issue. If you drop me a line (martin enginepublishing com) I\'d be happy to help you resolve it. We provide two ebook versions that should work on your Kindle, plain mobi and an Amazon-native format, and all formats are tested before the book goes on sale. Sometimes one Kindle-friendly version works better than the other on a particular device; if you haven\'t already, I recommend trying them both.
Odyssey: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Campaign Management
by Alessandro M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2015 12:48:32

A good manual to improve your mastering skills. It give you some frameworks to organize your campaing and tips to avoid common mistakes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Campaign Management
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Eureka: 501 Adventure Plots to Inspire Game Masters
by Ranjith E. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2015 12:42:40

This review starts with the (this time very few) bad things then gets to the more positive things. Please keep that in mind.

First of all, having all those indexes is neat - except for the rather awkward fact that they are using page numbers instead of the plot numbers. Each plot is numbered in the book, with the number printed in big letters in the same line as the individual plot's title, really easy to see. Thus, I don't see a reason why the plot numbers are not used for indexing. Instead, we get page numbers in plain face and in bold, depending on whether one or two plots on that page fit the index criteria. Definitely not elegant, especially since the plot numbers would immediately identify the genre under which an item is initially presented (1-167 = Fantasy, 168 - 334 = SF, 335 - 501 = Horror)

Secondly, it is a bit disappointing that the individual plots are not clearly marked as being one or more sub genres as presented. Instead, you only know the main genre (fantasy, SF, horror) and to which sub genres it can be adapted easily. It would have been nice if next to the title of the plot, there was also in lighter colour the sub genre the author had in mind when writing the plot.

Third, on a personal note, I find the definition of anime actually used in tagging plots rather ideosyncratic. That is, I would have expected it to be strongly linked to emotions and emotional issues, but I have the impression that the easily adaptable to column more joins it with action stunts.

Fourth, it is noteworthy that there are no real repetitions, not even cross-genre. Each of the 501 plots is unique, maybe sometimes similar in the initial situation to an earlier plot, but in its meat a beast of its own.

Fifth, this is definitely noteworthy given just how much material is in there. Think about it, 501 plots, each of which is a small tale with one or more surprises or twists. There is a lot of inspiration to be found.

Sixth, combined, this also results in there being probably something for every taste, although I sometimes had the impression that certain genres and certain styles combined rather often (like a seemingly high adaptability of horror plots to action horror). If you are looking for inspiration, you are likely to find it. Especially if you consider the broader usage of the plots - many include ideosyncratic NPCs which you can add to your own campaigns adventures without necessarily adopting the entire plot. There is really a lot of material you can mine to support whatever you are up to.

Personally, I think this is a very good product, which is why I gave it the top rating despite the minor negative points I mentioned above. If you want some inspiration or just a nice read of various plots, I heartily recommend this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eureka: 501 Adventure Plots to Inspire Game Masters
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
by Sébastien T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2015 12:28:09

This book is pure gold. As the author states quite a few times - most people "do their thing" mostly on intuition. Sometimes it works out, sometimes it's so terrible it actually multiplies your work load. I like the fact the author takes a step back and doesn't enforce his views and solutions onto the reader but offers self-evalutation, while often stating the obvious and offering a possible way of solving different problems This book aims for no specific system, as that's something the reader must figure out for him self, however the pointers and hints dropped all along the book should facilitate this task greatly. All in all, if you struggle as GM or don't feel like everything is going as well as it should, this book is for you. Even GMs who have been running games for quite a few years might learn something new as this book demands to evalute one-self. If you feel like you could improve don't look any further. You have arrived at your destination.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Masks: 1,000 Memorable NPCs for Any Roleplaying Game
by BENJAMIN C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2015 21:29:22

With less than 10 sessions under my GM belt, characterization has been something of a challenge/hassle for me. One would think with all the reading/gaming I've done over the years I would have this stuff down pat, but that hasn't been my experience. This book offers 1,000 breaths of fresh creative air so I can make meaningful characters that stick with the players. I'd love my players to remember my characters the same way we remember the people of the Simpsons.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masks: 1,000 Memorable NPCs for Any Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Eureka: 501 Adventure Plots to Inspire Game Masters
by BENJAMIN C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2015 21:20:21

Wow! Being a very busy person all-around (wife & 3 kids, demanding job, Church responsibilities, obligatory gaming, etc), this saves me a lot of time as a GM. And I, like many, even though pretty well-read & well-gamed, I still seem to gravitate to the same sorts of plots. Bad Guy Takes the McGuffin, PCs Need to Get it Back; NPC Dead, PCs Need to Find the Killer; and all of that gets old for both me the the players. This offers me 501 fresh breaths of creative air and I couldn't be more happy with the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eureka: 501 Adventure Plots to Inspire Game Masters
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
by Scott R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:17:24

I have been Gming games for decades and teach project management. It would seem I have little to learn from a short book on GM prep by a project management perspective. I was happily surprised. The book was inspirational -- particularly the system for session documentation. The book is professional organized making it an easy read and a satisfying buy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Unframed: The Art of Improvisation for Game Masters
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:11:12

Very readable, essily digestable, good selection of contributors, and useful hints, tips, tools, and strategies towards more flexible, improvises style games. Also arguments as to why you might want to take this approach.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unframed: The Art of Improvisation for Game Masters
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Unframed: The Art of Improvisation for Game Masters
by Joel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 15:43:35

Great articles that really got me thinking, from the greatest minds in tabletop RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG