Adamant Entertainment
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Adamant Entertainment



Home » Precis Intermedia » Reviews
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
HardNova 2 Revised & Expanded
by Jerry L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2014 21:33:17
I'll first preface this by stating that I am one of the game's authors,
though NOT a part of Precis Intermedia.
I'm a regular guy with a normal job who happened to get lucky
enough to do some freelancing on this title.
That said...

HardNova 2 Revised & Expanded is a low-cost, standalone RPG
overflowing with what you'd normally see in most publishers' entire game line.
For starters, you get several player character aliens, a setting, stock ships, gadgets & gear,
creatures, and even 16 adventures (called "scenarios").
The amount of content for a core rulebook is quite impressive, actually.

Let's face it, there's games out there that spoon-feed you every rule.
I don't have time for complicated, bogged-down systems with unnecessary info that
I won't use, like how long my character can hold his water before his bladder explodes.

HN2RE keeps everything simple by giving you only the rules you need
(but built to allow for tinkering if that's your thing).
Upon some familiarity, you'll be amazed at how easy it is creating new
gimmicks, species, creatures, starships, or anything else you can dream up...
Trust me when I say this game can handle almost any space setting out there -
whether sword & planet, hard sci-fi, or even space opera.

You won't spend hours just creating a character in order to play, either.
In fact, character generation can be accomplished in a breezy 10 minutes or so.
Or pick a template from the back of the book's pages, name the character,
grab some gear, and off you go even faster! Heck, task resolution is even uncomplicated:
Roll 2d6, subtract from ability + skill & compare that margin to a Difficulty.
Viola!

It's a small wonder why this game has managed to survive for 10 years,
but what's different about this new anniversary edition vs. the one before it?
Some improvements include:

- smoother mechanics (better organized combat & removal of extra task resolutions)
- 9 extra player character species (one isn't found in any official supplement!)
- notes for playing hybrid characters
- character Roles (such as Beastmaster, Mercenary, Pirate, etc.)
- further skills and gimmicks (some exclusive to HardNova 2 Revised & Expanded)
- new weapons and armor
- 88 more creatures (even spaceborne ones, a HardNova first!)
- updated alien artwork
- revised star map displaying new species' home planets
- additional starships (including a debut!)

In a nutshell? Bigger! Better! Badder!

If you want a fun, easy-to-learn sci-fi game with lots of support*
that uses normal dice you probably already have in an old board game laying around,
do yourself a solid and buy this RPG.
It's too good not to.

*http://www.pigames.net
or, feel free to visit this product's forum thread for questions or further discussion:
http://www.pigames.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=2247

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 Revised & Expanded
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MasterBook Core PDF (Classic Reprint)
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2014 01:01:21
I'm not rating the content with two stars. I'm rating the PDF. I own some print books from the Indiana Jones MB series and was curious to read more of the system and the World of Bloodshadows. I bought the bundle containing the MB, World of Bloodshadows, and the MB Companion.

Firstly, top marks for including the Master Deck PDF with the MB. Unfortunately, the resolution of the books is quite low. It displays ok on my iPad, but is impossible to read on my Kindle Paperwhite.

The books are all b&w so I thought the Kindle would be able to handle the PDFs with no problems. All the text appears scratchy and incomplete. Zooming in gives a slightly better image, but you are left viewing a quarter of a page at a time.

There is no OCR in the files and the contents page is not hot linked. It does clearly state on the product page that these were book scans, but I still have higher expectations from any OEF than what I have seen here. Hopefully the publishers will revisit the files and improve them for electronic viewing. As of right now, they are only really suited to viewing on a large screen or for printing.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
MasterBook Core PDF (Classic Reprint)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your feedback. The resolution is indeed print-quality, not low quality, so the issue appears to be with your devices not properly anti-aliasing line art.
Update: Tested viewing on my iPad Mini - looks great and easy to read. And while small, it\'s surprisingly legible on my iPhone.
Disposable Heroes Modern Gangs Statix 1
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2014 10:50:39
I recently was in need of some mooks and thugs for an upcoming superhero RPG campaign that I'll be running. I picked up a nice range of used Heroclix for the actual superheroes and a few random crooks, but I still needed a sizable number of pieces to use to represent street gangs, civilians, and the like.

So, once again, I turned to Precis Intermedia, who has been making my gamemastering easy for what seems like ages now with their line of Disposable Heroes. I've used them for ancient-themed games, traditional fantasy, the Civil War era, and much more. Now, it was time to see what they had in the way of supers and modern paper minis.

If there's a complaint with this set, it's that the name "Modern Gangs" is way too limited! This set not only comes with the traditional "mob" guys in suits, but also represents street gangs (red and blue), mercenaries, police officers, your average joe on the street, and some less savory types, as well. This set would go a long way towards filling out the populace of any modern/superhero setting, really. This isn't just modern gangs--it represents a whole host of potential friends, enemies, and citizens for your campaign.

As for the product itself, the 30 different figures here may be printed out in lack and white, and may either be used with Precis Intermedia's bases or cut out in trifold form. There is also the option to use these as flat counters. If you're in need of a veritable hoard of just one type of mini, there are also pages of "armies" of each type of figure.

In terms the actual art, Joshua Cayne did a really nice job on these figures. Printing out my sheets on cardstock on an older inkjet printer at so-so resolution still produced sharp characters that are easy to discern.

If I had a single complaint, is that when I printed out my stand-ups, there was a second page that only had two figures on it. It doesn't look as if any more pieces could have been fit on page one, but it did seem like a bit of a waste of paper, just having two figures on a whole page. Really, though, that's the only issue I had.

It's hard to go wrong with Disposable Heroes, which with this set continue to provide affordable, good-looking paper miniature solutions for the gaming table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Modern Gangs Statix 1
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ghostories Expanded RPG
by collin s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2014 00:14:43
I think Thomas B's review pretty much hit the highlights, so I'll keep my review brief. Then Genre Diversion 1.1 rules are fast and with this rule book you could easily do X-Files, Fringe, Buffy the vampire slayer, Bureau 13, really any game that crosses into the supernatural. Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghostories Expanded RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
by Barry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2014 15:47:49
Felt the system needed a little bit more support for conflict resolution, but, the spirit and direction of the system was good.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
by Rob H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2014 12:57:26
Personally, I love randomiser-free role-playing, but such games need to focus on the storytelling rather than the simulation. Much of this system appears to be an attempt to emulate dice-play through resource management, and that leaves me wondering if the dicelessness is just a gimmick. How does this comprehensive rules set move the game away from the tactical towards the imaginative? It doesn't. All it does is substitute a different mechanic.

For a freebie, it's well-produced, nice and clear, quite adaptable, but only innovative in the way that eating cornflakes out of a cup is innovative. At no point does it ask "why don't we do without cornflakes?".

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Disposable Heroes HARP Statix 1
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2013 12:11:45
The figures are pretty good. On bad thing is that the art is to dark for small counters like this, it is hard to tell the detail on each character. Lighter colors should be used to show more detail at such a small scale. Also some of the labels are not what the picture designates, sometimes even getting the gender wrong. But it is a useful product for those of us who can't afford the regular miniatures.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes HARP Statix 1
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Solo Wargaming Guide
by Roger J. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2013 14:23:50
I found this book to be most appealing. There really isn’t all that much in it that is wholly original, but that’s not the point: ideas I’d heard of or read about elsewhere are taken up here and developed extensively and intelligently. Good examples of how to apply them are also included.

There’s even a rather creative section on solitaire play for boardgames intended for two players or more.

The proposed system relies heavily on randomness, so be ready to shuffle those cards and roll those dice every few minutes.

I thought the writing could have used some tightening up and a solid last review (I really dislike seeing someone confuse “affect” and “effect”, for example). Also, the focus of the book is heavily Napoleonic; although Modern-related issues are covered, they don’t seem to get the same careful consideration pre-Modern ones do, mostly in matters related to maintaining the fog of war.

But all in all, this is a very good buy indeed, not only for solo wargamers but for any wargamer interested in adding some unpredictability to their game: many of the ideas included can be used to ensure that a regular two-sided game ends up more capricious, and therefore more challenging, than otherwise expected.

A good purchase, well worth your money and, more importantly, your time.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Wargaming Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EarthAD.2 RPG (Core PDF)
by Benjamin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2013 16:57:01
I found this game quite well designed and set up. It was well laid out and logically structured in how the book was put together in sections. I do feel that it could have used a few more examples of creatures that had evolved after/ been breed before the cataclysm to show how they thought such things should be built. They did include a few "mutations" that where for creatures only.

The way that they chose to make the Equipment list as simple and generic as possible so that a GM or a Player can be creative and define the gear as they see fit.

The way that they divided up the simple and more complex skill/ combat systems into two separate sections is a very nice touch in my mind. It allows the GM to select the level of complexity/ detail they want, and not have to hunt for all the details they need.

The list of basic NPC templates as they call them gives a GM a head start on creating a set of Villains/ other Characters, all that is needed is to pop in the weapons, armor and incidental gear the template has and they are good to go.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EarthAD.2 RPG (Core PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Lords of Olympus Diceless RPG
by Cliff B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2013 12:13:15
This is an excellent reworking of the Amber Diceless RPG.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords of Olympus Diceless RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Disposable Heroes Western Statix 1
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2013 19:21:41
I needed a good mix of minis for an alt-history gaming taking place right after the Civil War in 19th century America. This collection from Precis Intermedia is an excellent add to any Western game or similar setting, and won't break your bank. I will happily recommend the Disposable Heroes line in general; regardless of genre, they seem to have us covered!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Western Statix 1
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Treasure Awaits: The Brewmaster's Tomb
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2013 13:36:56
I like how this adventure could be run without a GM (Director), but I think the writing and descriptions need to be tightened up and expanded upon for a solo adventure, though you cannot argue about the price. The dungeon is a real nice one-off that GMs of other systems might enjoy converting over and it might get a few more people to try the Ancient Odyssey Treasure Awaits system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Treasure Awaits: The Brewmaster's Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Disposable Heroes Soldier Statix 2: Civil War
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2013 21:17:32
These minis were of an excellent quality, and printed well just using a regular inkjet printer and cardstock. They're the perfect addition to my gaming table, since I needed Union and Confederate troops for my upcoming campaign.

I've used multiple types of Precis Intermedia's Disposable Heroes, and have never been unhappy with the value or quality of their product. Their Civil War Statix are no exception. I'm happy they make these lines for some of the less common genres as well--it's a godsend to us using them!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Soldier Statix 2: Civil War
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Disposable Heroes Soldier Statix 4: Napoleonics
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2013 19:27:51
These turned out perfectly on a regular inkjet printer with cardstock, and saved me a ton of money and time in trying to afford or scrounge up British and French army minis for my upcoming game. Precis Intermedia continues to make top-notch products for underserved niches in gaming--I'd recommend check out the rest of their Disposable Heroes line!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Soldier Statix 4: Napoleonics
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2013 15:45:19
5 stars! The system actually can cover a multitude of genre and settings, and retains an element of chance without dice, via the different levels of Effort used. The rules are unified well, no matter the actions, and this doesn't feel forced!
And then there are the setting and genre books for it. I'm quite fond of some of them, and since they have to devote little space to system - the text is already a system - they're quite packed with information!

(As an advice, though, the GM should probably scribble the difficulty of the task down after determining it, and reveal it after the player has decided the Effort used. It only takes a sheet of paper that you can also use to scribble notes on).
Besides, it's free! Try it, you've got nothing to lose even if you don't like it - but if you do, you have found a very sleek, very adaptive system that's to your liking!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to Adamant Entertainment Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 283 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG